coldone

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 839
  • 1709 Thanks
  • 1709 posts

Posted May 29, 2020 - 08:03 PM

I'm working on a Power King 1212 which is also known as a Plastic king because of the fiberglass body.

I've never worked fiberglass before and this thing needs some TLC+.

I'm not even sure what questions to ask at this point. I guess I'm making this post so I can document and ask questions as I go.

On to the pics.
20200529_192029.jpg 20200529_192024.jpg 20200529_192011.jpg 20200529_191958.jpg
  • Cvans, WrenchinOnIt and 4getgto have said thanks

#2 Doxey OFFLINE  

Doxey
  • Member No: 48959
  • 307 Thanks
  • 206 posts

Posted May 29, 2020 - 08:14 PM

I've done a fair amount of fiberglass work over the years.  You will have to use fiberglass mat on the back as well as the front.  Use mat not cloth, because cloth will show through over the years.  Rough sand both sides before applying the mat.  Check YouTube for more details.  The last time I bought fiberglass resin was a Wal-mart online.  Since you won't be using a lot of the mat, you can buy that there too.  Otherwise check Ebay 

• coldone, WrenchinOnIt, chieffan and 1 other said thanks

#3 WrenchinOnIt OFFLINE  

WrenchinOnIt

Got Sum

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8592
  • 4871 Thanks
  • 1184 posts

Posted May 29, 2020 - 08:18 PM

Almost looks like it was gel coated. I’d rough up the back side good, remove enough material to lay resin saturated fiberglass mat and be able to finish with filler. After the backside is done I’d hit the show me side with a flap disk on the grinder again removing Enough material to be able to smooth finish, fill voids with Tiger Hair knock it down and use filler (bondo) to smooth. YouTube most likely has several how to’s to get the ideas rolling. 

Edited by WrenchinOnIt, May 29, 2020 - 08:18 PM.

• coldone, Doxey, chieffan and 2 others have said thanks

#4 billoswin OFFLINE  

billoswin
  • Member No: 99344
  • 13 Thanks