• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 husqvarnio OFFLINE  

husqvarnio
  • Member No: 98916
  • 1 Thanks
  • 2 posts

Posted May 08, 2020 - 03:56 PM

I'm a noob here, but have been lurking for a while. I have a dilemma I'm hoping to get some feedback on.

I have an Agri Fab tow behind tiller that the transmission (gears) went out on. The price of getting it fixed is gonna be in the $300-$500 range.  Nothing else wrong with it that I'm aware of right now.  

I could buy a brand new one of these for around 1300. Or, I could go with a Bercomac for about $1700. Or, DR products has a really nice 9 hp w/remote control for around 3000.

The DR is really out of my price range, but it has some nice bells & whistles. I don't know too much about the Berco, except what is on their website.  Has anyone here had or used one? Is it worth the money/hold up over the long-term?  

I'm trying to decide whether to fix up the 10 year old AgriFab or ditch it completely for something new. 

#2 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8923
  • 14675 Thanks
  • 9814 posts

Posted May 09, 2020 - 08:19 AM

Welcome to GTT. I would take the engine off of the Agri Fab and then take the trany apart. Sometimes things can be fixed with just new bearings and shims. Keep the engine for other projects or trading material. I have an old Troy Bilt tiller that is probably 40 years old. The old Troy Bilts are well made and last. Try to find a good used one and take care of it. If you have a large garden, look at getting a garden tractor with a tiller attachment. Check CL for what is for sale in your area. The longer that you can wait, the more prices will drop over the summer. Check our Manuals Section(3 free downloads per day) for info you need. Good Luck, Rick

• husqvarnio said thank you

#3 New.Canadian.DB.Owner OFFLINE  

New.Canadian.DB.Owner
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10178
  • 2539 Thanks
  • 1608 posts

Posted May 09, 2020 - 08:36 AM