Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

New to me JD 317


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 jonkoe23 OFFLINE  

jonkoe23

    New Member

  • New Member
  • Member No: 7627
  • 1 Thanks
  • 3 posts

Posted December 01, 2011 - 03:13 PM

Just bought a 317 with cab, mower deck, tiller, belly blade, snow blower, chains, and wheel weights. This winter I will be rebuilding the mower deck. It is a HO48K. Anyone know what lawn mower this model goes to? Also, I am having problems getting the snow blower to engage, it is model number GO49L. The idler pulley will not tighten the belt.

#2 caseguy OFFLINE  

caseguy

    Connoisseur of Rusty Junk

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 906
  • 1,624 Thanks
  • 5,600 posts
  • Location: Edinburg, PA

Posted December 01, 2011 - 04:38 PM

First, :wave: jonkoe23 Welcome to GTTalk! I'm afraid that I can't help with your question, but wanted to say hi anyhow! I'm sure that someone will be along shortly who will have the answer that you seek. In the meantime, browse around and enjoy the forum. Thanks for signing up!

#3 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted December 01, 2011 - 04:44 PM

Welcome to GTTalk. I've never seen a blower on a 317 so I can't help with your problem. I'm sure someone here will be able to help if you give it some time.

#4 Trav1s OFFLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,602 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted December 03, 2011 - 10:03 AM

Welcome! (sorry I forgot that... my mind was on other things :rolleyes:)

Model 49 blower was used on the 120/140 and all 300 series tractor.

First question: Do you have the correct belt? PN M82719 which us used on 317, 318, 316 with serial over 285001- ??

Second question: Do you have the tensioner on the belt? Pully #6 in the picture below runs of the outside of the belt to put tension on it.
Posted Image


Posted Image

Edited by Trav1s, December 03, 2011 - 10:45 AM.

  • Texas Deere and Horse said thank you

#5 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted December 03, 2011 - 10:38 AM

jonkoe23, Welcome to GTtalk, glad you joined us!! Please post some pictures of all your equipment that you have, we love pictures.

I hope that travis's post helped you out..

#6 Trav1s OFFLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,602 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted December 04, 2011 - 08:46 AM

Did you get anywhere with this?

#7 jonkoe23 OFFLINE  

jonkoe23

    New Member

  • New Member
  • Member No: 7627
  • 1 Thanks
  • 3 posts

Posted December 05, 2011 - 02:31 PM

Yes, the picture was the key. I did not flip over part 11 when I hooked it up, this part puts tension on the spring/ belt.

#8 jonkoe23 OFFLINE  

jonkoe23

    New Member

  • New Member
  • Member No: 7627
  • 1 Thanks
  • 3 posts

Posted December 05, 2011 - 02:32 PM

Thanks everyone.
  • Trav1s said thank you

#9 Brett OFFLINE  

Brett

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 7141
  • 78 Thanks
  • 287 posts
  • Location: Jacksonville, NC

Posted December 05, 2011 - 04:01 PM

:wave:Welcome to the site jonkoe!

#10 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted December 05, 2011 - 04:11 PM

Glad to hear you got it sorted out.




Top