Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Carb Question


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 limebuzz ONLINE  

limebuzz

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 795
  • 861 Thanks
  • 876 posts
  • Location: Bluevale Ontario

Posted November 05, 2011 - 10:25 AM

Alright,working on the 1655 again.Bought a new starter of e-bay and got it mounted yesterday.Now it will not run with the breather lid on,take it off and it runs almost perfect.It has a new filter on it,so thats not the problem.As you all know i've had the carb apart @50 times.I resealed the intake.Need this thing done soon(that snow is comming)I'm almost at my braking point.:wallbanging: Any help is very welcomed Thanks Paul

#2 coldone OFFLINE  

coldone

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 839
  • 1,631 Thanks
  • 1,668 posts
  • Location: Central NC

Posted November 05, 2011 - 06:55 PM

I had that happen on a Tec HH120. I set the jets without the filter on it and when I put the breather back together it would nt run, I had to readjust all the jets again with the breather assy on it.

Hope it helps.

#3 limebuzz ONLINE  

limebuzz

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 795
  • 861 Thanks
  • 876 posts
  • Location: Bluevale Ontario

Posted November 05, 2011 - 07:01 PM

Thanks Coldone,I'll try that first thing in the morning

#4 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,589 Thanks
  • 29,831 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted November 05, 2011 - 09:27 PM

Yes, even with a new filter, it can make a huge difference in jet adjustment. It's making things too rich when you put the cover on. Close up the main just a tick, then try it.

#5 smasher OFFLINE  

smasher

    Member

  • Member
  • Member No: 6997
  • 18 Thanks
  • 37 posts
  • Location: New Brunswick, Canada

Posted November 08, 2011 - 11:31 PM

Just out of curiosity, does the crank case vent exit back into the breather? I had welding machine once that wouldnt run with the air cleaner on, the engine had such bad blowby it would choke out the engine. I relocated the crankcase vent to a less environmentally friendly position and the engine ran great.
  • Alc said thank you

#6 limebuzz ONLINE  

limebuzz

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 795
  • 861 Thanks
  • 876 posts
  • Location: Bluevale Ontario

Posted November 09, 2011 - 08:13 AM

Ya the vent is still in original location,Don't have blowby though cause the filter is clean and dry?I tried resetting the carb but no better.Starting to think its the timing?

#7 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,250 Thanks
  • 28,602 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted November 09, 2011 - 08:27 AM

I don't think it's timing, it runs fine with the cover off. Still sounds like mixture to me. I'd pull the breather off and plug the port on the carb, just to test, then you know for sure.

I'm kidding here: did you take the wrapper off the filter? :rofl2:

Thought you could use a smile. Good luck.

#8 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,623 Thanks
  • 3,860 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted November 09, 2011 - 08:30 AM

Hard to believe timing would cause this.
Does it actually go rich?
Will it make the plugs wet with the cover on?

#9 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,446 Thanks
  • 6,611 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted November 09, 2011 - 08:58 AM

Hope you find the problem and an easy fix , Al

#10 limebuzz ONLINE  

limebuzz

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 795
  • 861 Thanks
  • 876 posts
  • Location: Bluevale Ontario

Posted November 09, 2011 - 05:12 PM

LOL Yes the wrapper is off the filter!The plugs are not wet,however they are really full of carbon,the plugs are not that old.So I decided to do a compression test and found 90 psi and 85 psi so maybe a ring job is in order.But im not getting any oil in the breather?

#11 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,623 Thanks
  • 3,860 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted November 09, 2011 - 05:38 PM

From what the plugs look like it is rich. Lack of blow-by could mean the valves are leaking.
Compression is low but not out of sight. Should still run OK. Pretty hard to do a wet/dry test on a horizontal piston engine but a leak down and listen to the intake and exhaust could narrow it down.
How about the float level? Do you have the plastic float? They can become saturated and run a high float level. The up grade is a brass float.

#12 limebuzz ONLINE  

limebuzz

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 795
  • 861 Thanks
  • 876 posts
  • Location: Bluevale Ontario

Posted November 09, 2011 - 09:47 PM

The carb has the brass float in it already.




Top