Michiganmobileman

Old Tractor Addict

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5678
  • 1,235 Thanks
  • 1,842 posts

Posted November 05, 2011 - 07:31 AM

I will be adding hydraulics to my A-G this winter. I have purchased a 3 way valve, have two cylinders on hand and have a pump that is mounted to a 12V motor(not sure if I should use electric motor though), I believe from a snowplow.
Wanting to get some additional info on line sizes, lift capabilities, operating pressures, blah, blah,blah.
In other words I admit I have little experience with hydraulics, other than using the existing controls on my tractors. I have room up front for the pump, a reservoir tank and could add a second battery too.
Any body have any good words of wisdom or warning to give me?
Any good websites or links to information on this subject?
Hope to get at this shortly after the ground freezes, the Allis-Grader gets put to bed after that.
:worshippy2:Thanks in advance:smile1:

Edited by Michiganmobileman, November 05, 2011 - 07:32 AM.
Change post icon

#2 Lovintractorin OFFLINE  

Lovintractorin

Tinkerer

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 4180
  • 159 Thanks
  • 603 posts

Posted November 05, 2011 - 09:27 AM

What about using a auto PS pump with a belt off the engine instead of using a 12 volt pump. I remember reading a thread on a guy who added hydraulics too a Bolens tubeframe with a PS pump. I can't find the thread though. I think it was on MTF.
  • Michiganmobileman said thank you

#3 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,459 Thanks
  • 6,628 posts

Posted November 05, 2011 - 12:22 PM

Monacrh made a lot of snow plow pump/motor unit .Couldn't find the Monacrh web site but maybe this will help you figuring what pump/motor you have to work with . Al

http://www.baumhydra...catalog/k22.pdf

#4 Toolpartzman OFFLINE  

Toolpartzman

Fun With Horsepower

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 7171
  • 468 Thanks
  • 1,280 posts