• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Deere Green OFFLINE  

Deere Green

• Member No: 7192
  • 24 Thanks
  • 126 posts

Posted October 31, 2011 - 09:35 AM

Hello to all...newbie here to the forum but not new to the addiction I mean Hobby of rebuilding older units.

Last Year I rebuilt a 72' Dual Stage 726 pictured below and this year we acquired a 1980 John Deere 111. Guy we got it from said that the wiring was bad.......
101222_142708.jpg
It was really bad, so over the last couple of nights I have rewired the thing. One issue, I have never seen the type of solenoid that is in this thing. I am used to the two main terminals with one male spade, this one has two spades . I know I need to take the wire from the start terminal on the key switch to the solenoid but which one do I hook it up to and what side and what goes to the other spade?
IMAG0565.jpg

Edited by Deere Green, October 31, 2011 - 10:15 AM.

#2 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

Super Moderator

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts

Posted October 31, 2011 - 10:07 AM

Welcome to GTTalk. Without seeing it I'm not sure about the solenoid. Usually there are 2 large terminals to accept the high current connections for the starter. Then there is a single smaller one for the solenoid power with the return to the battery - terminal made through the chassis of the tractor. What I would do is to get an ohm meter and try to determine if the 2 spade terminals are for the solenoid coil. It should measure a few ohms resistance across the coil. Check both terminals to see if one of them connects to the metal mount of the solenoid. That would be the - terminal. I would then test it momentarily on a battery charger to see if it energizes. Let us know how you make out with it. A picture would help.
P.S. Any starter interlock switches are usually wired in series between the switch and the solenoid.

#3 Deere Green OFFLINE