Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

HP dv4130us laptop


  • Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#1 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,522 Thanks
  • 39,742 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted October 30, 2011 - 08:37 AM

About a year ago, I picked up this laptop at a pawn shop. I brought it home, but I couldn.t get it to fire up. Checked the AC power supply and it was working okay. Messed with it some, wouldn't work. Last nite, I got it off the shelf and asked Steve (redheaded step child, long story here) to see if he could do anything with it. I woke this morning to find it powered up on the coffee table. Works off the battery too. It is waiting for a password I do not have. So I googled it and found a restore disc set. Got those on the way. Hopefully soon I will have a laptop to take out to the shop. Oh, I only paid $30 for it. $34 for the restore discs. Has a DVD RW in it.

#2 ducky ONLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,632 Thanks
  • 3,870 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted October 30, 2011 - 08:43 AM

That's great Kenny
My first laptop was a 4300us. Bought it used in 2000 I think I paid $900 for it. Still have it and use it for GPS it my truck and auto and lift truck software.
This has been a bullet proof box.

#3 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,459 Thanks
  • 6,629 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted October 30, 2011 - 08:47 AM

That will be handy Kenny to have a laptop to use in your shop , you'll be able to have all your manuals , pictures ect right there when you need it , Al

#4 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,522 Thanks
  • 39,742 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted October 30, 2011 - 08:50 AM

If I get it all working okay, I plan to network it off this one so I have the same files on it. And I can use the DVD RW for a backup of it all.

#5 ducky ONLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,632 Thanks
  • 3,870 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted October 30, 2011 - 08:53 AM

Kenny
WIRELESS.
Than you can GTTalk from your shop.:bounce:

#6 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,338 Thanks
  • 28,646 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted October 30, 2011 - 08:58 AM

Good news Kenny, no chance of contacting the manufacturer for a master password?

Even so, that's a cheap laptop. You'll enjoy having the portability.

#7 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,522 Thanks
  • 39,742 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted October 30, 2011 - 09:23 AM

It is a Windows logon password set by the previous owner. No telling what that may be.

#8 ducky ONLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,632 Thanks
  • 3,870 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted October 30, 2011 - 09:36 AM

Kenny
When you get your restore disc set you will be good to go.
I would only install windows and the drives.
Stay away from all the bloat wear.
You know you may want to try Linux "Unbunto" while you are waiting for the discs. You may never go back to Windows.
We have lots of help here to get you going.

#9 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,522 Thanks
  • 39,742 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted October 30, 2011 - 09:59 AM

I just downloaded a program to try to crack the password for it. I'll see what that does. I need to look into Unbunto, though I have a lot of programs that need windows.

#10 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,522 Thanks
  • 39,742 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted October 30, 2011 - 10:38 AM

Got into Windows. I'm going to play with it a while, see what is on it. Wireless is working, it is getting updates.

#11 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted October 30, 2011 - 11:14 AM

I just downloaded a program to try to crack the password for it. I'll see what that does. I need to look into Unbunto, though I have a lot of programs that need windows.



I am using Ubuntu,seems to be a good "system".

#12 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,522 Thanks
  • 39,742 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted October 30, 2011 - 03:59 PM

Having problems with the power supply connection. We'll have to take it down and see what the problem is. I'm thinking bad solder joint. But, it works.

#13 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,712 Thanks
  • 8,564 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted October 30, 2011 - 05:02 PM

Kenny, you will enjoy having a laptop in the shop. I have a similar setup as you are talking about, I have all my manuals on the laptop in the shop but I back it up to this one in my office. One word of caution, if your shop is metal, like mine, you may have connection problems. If I'm connected to the internet I have to leave the laptop close to the door with the door open. Metal buildings and wireless do exactly get along very well. If you want to pass files back and forth you will also need to set up sharing. Enjoy.

#14 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,522 Thanks
  • 39,742 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted October 30, 2011 - 05:17 PM

As soon as we can get the power supply connection figured out and get some things cleared out or restore it, I think it will do okay. Only has 512 mb memory, but I found 2 gigs of memory for $68. That will perk it up some. Right now it has 50 processes running at once. That's a lot. Had 61 to start with.

#15 mikebramel OFFLINE  

mikebramel

    Ron Paul

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 82
  • 176 Thanks
  • 1,009 posts
  • Location: Milwaukee

Posted October 30, 2011 - 08:50 PM

512 is enough for browsing online. remove startup programs through run > msconfig
  • KennyP said thank you




Top