• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 slingblade OFFLINE  

slingblade

• Member No: 4072
  • 2 Thanks
  • 40 posts

Posted October 25, 2011 - 05:43 PM

Well everyone thank you so much so far for all of your suggestions with the no-crank issues. It was the forward pto switch that was faulty and I had to re-install the original solenoid.

This tractor has been sitting for quite some time. This is my first time looking at an Onan engine. (B48M) I have never touched a MS carb before. Can I unscrew the top to attempt to clean? I dont have any intake gaskets yet, so I would like to at least try to get the old girl running before I have to order a ton of parts. Can I use RTV silicone for intake gaskets? It looks like it has to be removed to get the carb off...any carb tune-up/cleaning advice/tips would be very appreciated.

#2 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,612 Thanks
  • 29,834 posts

Posted October 25, 2011 - 06:44 PM

You can do the cleaning with it mounted, but as you know, much better if removed. No, you cannot use any form-a-gasket in place of the gasket. It would squeeze into the jet areas & clog them right off. Unscrew the topit the float will come with the top section. Just use a thin blade when you go to remove the top to release the gasket from the bottom of the carb. Once you get that off, then take & post some pics so we can see what you are up against.

#3 coldone OFFLINE  

coldone

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 839
  • 1,631 Thanks
  • 1,668 posts

Posted October 25, 2011 - 10:01 PM