15 replies to this topic

#1 bolensmad OFFLINE  

bolensmad

• Member No: 6739
  • 0 Thanks
  • 8 posts

Posted October 07, 2011 - 03:04 PM

Hi everybody!
I'm brand new to tractors and this forum. I picked up a Bolens h14 with 30" tiller from a guy who had it setting for at least a year. He said it was running great before he parked it. I go it home and right off it won't start without a primer. Once it starts and warms up it runs away. It either goes full throttle to the point that gas is spraying out of the carb or it dies. I rebuilt the carb thinking it might be gummed up from sitting and that didn't help. I have never worked on small engines before so there is a hyooge learning curve going on right now. I'm wondering if a vacuum/pressure leak could do this and if the governer might be the issue. I haven't tried running it without the governer. And, of course, I'm looking to gain some wisdom from the vast pool of great knowledge here on this site. (did that sound schmoozy or what?) Seriously, any help or advice would really be appreciated!

I'll post some pics later when I can get to downloading them.

Edited by JDBrian, October 07, 2011 - 03:32 PM.

#2 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

Accumulator

• Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts

Posted October 07, 2011 - 03:24 PM

bolensmaid,welcome to the forum,glad to have you with us.

Did you just clean it,or did you put a new kit in it?

#3 bolensmad OFFLINE  

bolensmad

• 0 Thanks
  • 8 posts

Posted October 07, 2011 - 03:27 PM

I cleaned it, soaked it and put in a new kit.

#4 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

Accumulator

• Contributor
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts

Posted October 07, 2011 - 03:52 PM

Did the kit come with new needle valve? If not,does the old one have a groove worn in it?I know I don't need to ask this,but did you blow all the passageways out with air?

#5 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

DR. Bolens

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor