• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 JulianLewis OFFLINE  

JulianLewis

• Member No: 6447
  • 0 Thanks
  • 2 posts

Posted September 22, 2011 - 09:24 AM

Hi there, I have the opportunity to purchase a 1977 Sears 18/6 for $450 but know very little about whether this was a good year/good tractor. I'm brand new to tractors. We need a riding lawn mower but I would rather buy an older tractor that is heavy duty than buy modern and of poor quality.
The tractor runs and appears to be in good overall condition.
I'd appreciate your thoughts on this model.
Cheers, Julian
PS I am originally from England where lawn's are the size of postage stamps. We didn't have riders!!

Edited by JulianLewis, September 22, 2011 - 10:22 AM.

#2 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

FORDoholic

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,455 Thanks
  • 39,682 posts

Posted September 22, 2011 - 01:54 PM

Julian, welcome! If you are mechanically inclined, the older tractors can be very rewarding. Can't say much about the price, not up on that. A lot depends where you are located and what, if any, attachments come with it. Someone with more experience with this brand should be along.

#3 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts

Posted September 22, 2011 - 02:14 PM

Julian, WELCOME to GT talk, glad you joined us. I can't tell you much about Sears GT's, other then they were a good solid tractor and there are 100's of them still out there doing their daily jobs. Good luck.

#4 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

Accumulator

• Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts

Posted September 22, 2011 - 02:41 PM

Julian,welcome to the forum.
Glad to have you with us.

I know what you mean about the size of the lawns in England. One of my best friends lives in England.