Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

FIREFOX Problems


  • Please log in to reply
62 replies to this topic

#16 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted September 20, 2011 - 02:24 PM

I just got to thinking. If you had a previous version of firefox installed, meaning a different version before they started this new release/upgrade path then you have two versions installed at the same time. I am thinking the shortcuts that are on the other user's desktops are to the old version. You would need to check and see if there is more then one firefox installed which entirely possible.

#17 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted September 20, 2011 - 02:44 PM

George, OK, I'll check and un-install all FF stuff on all user homepages. Then I'll install the latest version from their site and see what happens. Thanks !!!!

#18 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted September 20, 2011 - 02:47 PM

Bill,

Are you getting an error message when another user tries to run FF? if so can you post a screen shot? Do the other users have an Icon on their desktop? I don't think reinstalling FF will resolve your problem.


Yes, I get a Crash Report on start up of FF., on all users except me. They all have an icon on their desktop, but it doesn't matter where you open it from, desktop or Start up directory, or if you try to open it from the All Programs Menu.

#19 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,657 Thanks
  • 29,842 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted September 20, 2011 - 02:49 PM

OK, I'll check and un-install all FF stuff on all user homepages. Then I'll install the latest version from their site and see what happens. Thanks !!!!


That may be the only rote. The new version is supposed to delete or overwrite changed files, but sometimes it doesn't do it right. May have left a file, now the 2 files are conflicting.

#20 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,712 Thanks
  • 8,564 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted September 20, 2011 - 03:00 PM

What does the crash report say?

#21 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted September 20, 2011 - 03:07 PM

All it says, is "FireFox failed to open and needs to close. A crash report will be sent to them upon closing. You mat send your E-mail addy to them for a follow up". I have yet to here anything from them and their HELP site is a endless merry-go-round with no help. This has been going on for 4 or 5 days now.

When I get home tonight, I will snapshot the page and post it here.

#22 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted September 20, 2011 - 04:50 PM

I can sit and read this several times and it is still like trying to read a foreign language. .



I hear you grand,I know exactly what you mean.

#23 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted September 20, 2011 - 10:43 PM

I now have both my daughters up and running, but no go for my wife. Here's a picture of what I get.

download_2.jpg

#24 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted September 21, 2011 - 05:28 AM

If you can click on the details button next time that pops up and grab a screenshot of it that might provide a little more information.

How long has it been since you restarted the computer?

#25 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,712 Thanks
  • 8,564 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted September 21, 2011 - 08:04 AM

In addition to what Nutndun mentioned have your tried to click on the FF restart button? If so what happened.

What did you do to get your daughters working?

#26 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,523 Thanks
  • 39,742 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted September 21, 2011 - 08:45 AM

I am experiencing problems with FF this morning. I'm on Chrome right now. FF won't load any pages.

#27 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted September 21, 2011 - 11:42 AM

If you can click on the details button next time that pops up and grab a screenshot of it that might provide a little more information.

How long has it been since you restarted the computer?


George, I try changing something, then restart always. I will grab you a span shot of the detail list.

In addition to what Nutndun mentioned have your tried to click on the FF restart button? If so what happened.

What did you do to get your daughters working?


Bill, Restart FF does the same thing. Crash Report. I have no idea what that I changed made theirs work. I've changed too many options.

#28 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted September 21, 2011 - 12:19 PM

OK, Here's the snapshots you asked for George.


download01.jpg
download02.jpg
download03.jpg
download05.jpg
download05.jpg
download06.jpg
download07.jpg
download08.jpg
download09.jpg

I hope you can make some sense out of this...:confuse::confuse::confuse: :wallbanging:

#29 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted September 21, 2011 - 01:03 PM

You didn't change anything recently regarding your home network did you? I remember you having trouble with dsl not long ago.

If you don't mind, try uninstalling firefox again and install this firefox 7 beta. I want to see if it works for you. Here is a link for direct download: http://download.mozi...=win&lang=en-US

Also, do you have any trouble with any of the other browsers?

#30 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted September 21, 2011 - 01:14 PM

No problems with the other browsers at all. I will try that, I'm home fixing the A/C today, YEE HAW.. So I have time to work on it.




Top