Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Hydraulic Question massy 1655


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 ErnRemy OFFLINE  

ErnRemy

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1300
  • 19 Thanks
  • 148 posts
  • Location: Shellbrook Saskatchewan Canada

Posted September 10, 2011 - 10:17 PM

When I put the lever in float for the belly mower it seem to make the hyd work, From what i know of spools should it not just bypass in the spools

#2 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,623 Thanks
  • 3,860 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted September 11, 2011 - 09:30 AM

Yes you are correct.
The center should be open to tank and the cylinder ports are open to tank as well in float.

#3 ErnRemy OFFLINE  

ErnRemy

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1300
  • 19 Thanks
  • 148 posts
  • Location: Shellbrook Saskatchewan Canada

Posted September 11, 2011 - 02:16 PM

I thought that was the way but when in float it sounds like the pump is working when in float I usually try to lower the mower but some times i forget it in float i do not want the oil warming to much more than necessary

#4 massey driver ONLINE  

massey driver

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 75
  • 1,072 Thanks
  • 1,443 posts
  • Location: Mainitoba Canada

Posted September 11, 2011 - 05:39 PM

I use my 1655 with the mower all the time and have never put it in the float postion.I put the mower down ,hold the lever untill the hyd,squeal and It's good to go.There's no need for the lever to be in float while mowing.The linkages on the mower deck are slotted so that's where the float on the deck comes from.Unless yours is set up different then mine.Larry

#5 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,623 Thanks
  • 3,860 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted September 11, 2011 - 07:12 PM

Just a thought could your valve been changed somewhere along the way and your valve does not have a float position and is sticking in the lower position. The float valve should have 4 positions were the other have 3 positions. No way should you have a hydraulic load on your system in the float position.

#6 mova211 OFFLINE  

mova211

    New Member

  • New Member
  • Member No: 5897
  • 0 Thanks
  • 5 posts

Posted September 11, 2011 - 10:15 PM

why you cant?

#7 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted September 11, 2011 - 10:30 PM

In the FLOAT position, the valve circuit is open to allow the fluid to flow back and forth through the valve in the lift circuit. The pump circuit is in bypass through the valve and back to the tank.

#8 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,447 Thanks
  • 6,611 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted September 12, 2011 - 05:33 AM

Could there be any chance that this valve is only a 3 position and the one is a detent ? Put on by the PO ?

#9 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,623 Thanks
  • 3,860 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted September 12, 2011 - 07:27 AM

The float valve is physically longer than the 3 position valve.

#10 ErnRemy OFFLINE  

ErnRemy

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1300
  • 19 Thanks
  • 148 posts
  • Location: Shellbrook Saskatchewan Canada

Posted September 12, 2011 - 07:21 PM

Sorry guys I have been running heavy equipment for most of my life everything from mini tack hoes to the cat 320 and d4 up to a d11.... the 11 I ran only for an hour but I tell you she will dig a basement in a hurry, I am quite familiar with most hydraulics other than closed center system I am was not familiar with, I am unaware of why this is making the pump work when in float. It is all factory original, as for using it in float it is just easier to put it there and then pull it out when I need to lift. Thanks for all of the suggestions

#11 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,447 Thanks
  • 6,611 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted September 12, 2011 - 07:55 PM

Maybe then the problem is in the detent cap , keeping the spool from going into the correct position , Al

#12 ErnRemy OFFLINE  

ErnRemy

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1300
  • 19 Thanks
  • 148 posts
  • Location: Shellbrook Saskatchewan Canada

Posted September 12, 2011 - 09:54 PM

never thought of that, it did not want to go into de-tent when I first got the machine then it started to after use maybe I will pull the cap off and have a look

#13 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,623 Thanks
  • 3,860 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted September 20, 2011 - 07:40 PM

"hoes to the cat 320 and d4 up to a d11...."

We had D7s and HD16s in Thailand (532 Construction Engineers).
I would give my right arm just to get in the cab of one of those 11s.
Those suckers can put dirt from one place to another in short order.

#14 ErnRemy OFFLINE  

ErnRemy

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1300
  • 19 Thanks
  • 148 posts
  • Location: Shellbrook Saskatchewan Canada

Posted September 21, 2011 - 06:43 PM

ya it was a real experience to operate that d11, you get in the cab looking for a throttle lever. Nope none there just a rocker switch she is either wide open or idle, then you look for steering clutch levers or at least like other high track cats a
steering control lever with the shifter nope just two little levers that you operate with your fingers which by the way you really don't operate much when making a cut. When your reclaiming you kind of point her in the right direction and then start pushing you can actually
steer it some what with the tilt of the blade making her dig harder on one side. The blade on that girl is the size of a wall on your house, about a story and a half really!




Top