16 replies to this topic

#1 JakeQT17 OFFLINE  

JakeQT17

• Member No: 6095
  • 18 Thanks
  • 44 posts

Posted September 05, 2011 - 07:31 PM

Hi Everyone,

Today I bought an old Bolens QT17 for $300 off of Craigslist. I'm really not sure what I am in for since I am completely new to the world of old tractors. My only previous experience with mechanical equipment was with a '92 2 stroke KE125 I restored last summer.

The tractor runs well on choke, but struggles a little bit with full air. The mower deck seems to work good, although it needs a new pulley and belt, and the hydraulics seem to work well on it. Do you think $300 was a fair price? I have attached the craigslist photo. It came with a plow and the guy I bought it from did a spray can paint job on the tractor.

I know with the Kawasaki parts were sometimes hard to find, where are good sites to buy parts for the tractor? I also had a tough time finding a guy that could service the old points system, I was thinking I would learn to do this myself on the tractor, any suggestions on how I can do this?

Thanks to everyone in advance!http://www.gttalk.co...lies/madhop.gif

Attached Thumbnails

• 3n13o73le5V35O25R4b9467538c32febe1bf3.jpg

#2 grand OFFLINE  

grand

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8
  • 1,632 Thanks
  • 1,909 posts

Posted September 05, 2011 - 07:37 PM

:welcometogttalk: Glad to have you with us. I have several older Bolens but don't have much mechanical expertise. There are many people on the site that will be able to help you with your questions. Please keep us updated on your progress. Good luck.

#3 caseguy OFFLINE  

caseguy

Connoisseur of Rusty Junk

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 906
  • 1,624 Thanks
  • 5,600 posts

Posted September 05, 2011 - 07:51 PM