Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Just some pictures


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Closha63 OFFLINE  

Closha63

    Member

  • Member
  • Member No: 3203
  • 4 Thanks
  • 47 posts
  • Location: York Springs, PA

Posted August 14, 2011 - 07:44 PM

This is my first JD and for a tare down the the exterior shell came apart really quickly. One thing I am not sure of is the motor mounts... It is a 341 16hp and when it idles to mid throttle the hole motor shakes. Is this a normal thing?
DSCN0409.jpg

Attached Thumbnails

  • DSCN0401.jpg
  • DSCN0411.jpg
  • DSCN0400.jpg
  • DSCN0404.jpg
  • DSCN0410.jpg
  • DSCN0402.jpg
  • DSCN0412.jpg
  • DSCN0403.jpg


#2 fishman OFFLINE  

fishman

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5368
  • 19 Thanks
  • 130 posts
  • Location: Dayton pa

Posted August 14, 2011 - 09:15 PM

Nice looking tractor. I have a 312 & from what I have been told Jd put fly wheels on that were not balanced. So mine shakes too but make sure to check motor mounts & motor cradle mine was broke on the left side if you are sitting on seat.

#3 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted August 14, 2011 - 09:22 PM

I think some shaking at lower rpm is to be expected. I would check the rubber motor mounts and the brackets to make sure they are in good shape. If the rubber mounts look torn up and you already have the tractor torn down it wouldn't be a bad idea to put new mounts on it.

#4 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted August 15, 2011 - 10:26 AM

You have the original single cylinder 316! It looks like the steering wheel has been replaced. Your hydro gauge has been disconnected. You need to make sure you vent it when you reassemble it. If you use a regular fuel filter, drill a 1/16" hole in the top of the filter. If you order the direct JD replacement part it already has the vent. Do not assemble it without a vent. My 314 was assembled without a vent when I got it and the hydro was building up pressure in the rear axle and driving fluid out through the axle seals.
As far as the motor mounts go mine had the 2 rear ones broken. It vibrated badly. Even with new mounts the motor vibrates a lot at lower rpms. I was told that these engines do not have the balance shaft that the commercial kohler engines have. This makes them shake at low RPM's. The motor mounts are designed to help smooth this out. Make sure you inspect them carefully. They can be cracked on the bottom and look OK from above but when you put weight on them they collapse.

#5 Gibby OFFLINE  

Gibby

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4886
  • 96 Thanks
  • 360 posts
  • Location: Butler County, Pa

Posted August 15, 2011 - 07:24 PM

Be sure to check your drive shaft also. They tend to wear from the vibration and can compound it. The input shaft on my 314 is badly worn and I've come to the conclusion it'll be cheaper and easier to find a new(used) trans axle assembly to swap with than replace the input shaft. I forget the price exactly, but several hundred for a new input shaft from JD.

Here is my input shaft. This is where the driveshaft connects to it.
Posted Image

#6 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted August 16, 2011 - 10:20 AM

Ouch, that bites Gibby. Mine wore the coupler really bad but the pin was still tight in the hydro shaft. The couplers appear to be sintered material of some kind and should be softer than the shaft. I guess the damage comes from the long time that this can go undetected.

#7 levic900rr OFFLINE  

levic900rr

    New Member

  • New Member
  • Member No: 5612
  • 0 Thanks
  • 5 posts

Posted August 16, 2011 - 10:51 AM

Cool looking rig man!

#8 johndeererf OFFLINE  

johndeererf

    New Member

  • New Member
  • Member No: 5198
  • 1 Thanks
  • 8 posts

Posted August 16, 2011 - 10:59 AM

Looking Good! We have a few John Deere 300s here along with the rest of them. They can both shake you right off the seat at low to mid RPMs. It seems to be a common attribute to these tractors. My belief is that it is the rubber mounting system they utilized in these tractors. On an early 120/140, the motor was bolted directly to the frame, not allowing any movement of the motor. On any rubber mounted motor, I find vibration to b greatly increased. If your motor mounts are broke through, they are still readily available through Deere; although, they are not cheap! There is another company that supplies them but I cannot think of the name right now.

#9 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted August 16, 2011 - 06:49 PM

Looking Good! We have a few John Deere 300s here along with the rest of them. They can both shake you right off the seat at low to mid RPMs. It seems to be a common attribute to these tractors. My belief is that it is the rubber mounting system they utilized in these tractors. On an early 120/140, the motor was bolted directly to the frame, not allowing any movement of the motor. On any rubber mounted motor, I find vibration to b greatly increased. If your motor mounts are broke through, they are still readily available through Deere; although, they are not cheap! There is another company that supplies them but I cannot think of the name right now.


Welcome JDrf. If you can think of the name of the second source for the mounts please let us know. They are a common problem for these tractors and the cost from JD is pretty steep.

#10 johndeererf OFFLINE  

johndeererf

    New Member

  • New Member
  • Member No: 5198
  • 1 Thanks
  • 8 posts

Posted August 16, 2011 - 08:36 PM

Hi Brian,

The name of the company is McMaster-Carr. If you follow this link: McMaster-Carr# and type in the product number 6008K33 you will located them. They are relatively inexpensive. We have not personally utilized these ourselves, but others have. I think you may have to remove two ears to allow them to fit. The other two should rivet and/or bolt into your existing frame mounts. For $10.00 you cannot go wrong. However, if originality is a must, these are not right! Nice to see a fellow Canadian. We are from Ontario.

#11 johndeererf OFFLINE  

johndeererf

    New Member

  • New Member
  • Member No: 5198
  • 1 Thanks
  • 8 posts

Posted August 16, 2011 - 08:50 PM

Note: these are for the 200 series, and do not size up for the front mounts which are larger. They may sell one though, just never did any research on them.

#12 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,347 Thanks
  • 39,627 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted August 17, 2011 - 05:14 AM

Hi Brian,

The name of the company is McMaster-Carr. If you follow this link: McMaster-Carr# and type in the product number 6008K33 you will located them. They are relatively inexpensive. We have not personally utilized these ourselves, but others have. I think you may have to remove two ears to allow them to fit. The other two should rivet and/or bolt into your existing frame mounts. For $10.00 you cannot go wrong. However, if originality is a must, these are not right! Nice to see a fellow Canadian. We are from Ontario.


The flush mount type shown are what is used on my Ford LGT 165. I used 3/16" allen head bolts and nylock nuts to attach them instead of rivets. They should work fine, but I haven't seen a pic of what the JD version looks like. There are several different types at McMaster-Carr.

#13 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted August 17, 2011 - 10:37 AM

Mount test fit.jpg

The second picture is one of the broken rear mounts on my 314. They welded it to the bottom of the frame...it melted....Duhh! The third picture is a test fit of a new mount after the weld was ground off the frame.
The JD mounts are plate mounts like the ones in the link above, but they are diamond shaped instead of square, and have 2 mounting holes. The front ones are much taller. In the first picture they can be seen either side of the PTO pulley. The rubber part is maybe 1-1/4" tall. They are more expensive then the rear ones and although I have seen parts like the front ones when I search online I have never seen the tall type anywhere. If I get time I would like to pursue getting an actual second source for these. An application specialist at one of the mount suppliers may be able to cross reference the numbers on the JD mounts and find a functional sub.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Motor Mount 2.jpg
  • DSCF5977.jpg


#14 johndeererf OFFLINE  

johndeererf

    New Member

  • New Member
  • Member No: 5198
  • 1 Thanks
  • 8 posts

Posted August 17, 2011 - 11:08 AM

[ATTACH=CONFIG]19226[/ATTACH][ATTACH=CONFIG]19225[/ATTACH][ATTACH=CONFIG]19224[/ATTACH]

The second picture is one of the broken rear mounts on my 314. They welded it to the bottom of the frame...it melted....Duhh! The third picture is a test fit of a new mount after the weld was ground off the frame.
The JD mounts are plate mounts like the ones in the link above, but they are diamond shaped instead of square, and have 2 mounting holes. The front ones are much taller. In the first picture they can be seen either side of the PTO pulley. The rubber part is maybe 1-1/4" tall. They are more expensive then the rear ones and although I have seen parts like the front ones when I search online I have never seen the tall type anywhere. If I get time I would like to pursue getting an actual second source for these. An application specialist at one of the mount suppliers may be able to cross reference the numbers on the JD mounts and find a functional sub.


I tired Mcmaster-carr last night with the JD Part numbers. They could not cross reference them. If you could try a few other companies, it would be interesting to find out if anyone else carries them!

#15 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted August 17, 2011 - 03:16 PM

I tired Mcmaster-carr last night with the JD Part numbers. They could not cross reference them. If you could try a few other companies, it would be interesting to find out if anyone else carries them!


I'm pretty busy right now but I have had a look around and there are a few companies that sell something that looks like it would work. The problem is the hardness of the rubber, which determines the stiffness of the mount and the resonant frequency. If this is wrong it could cause problems. The new mounts have Gould written on them as a manufacturer. It doesn't seem to come up in a search. They could be NOS that JD has had for a long time in stock. I'll have another look later in the week and see what I find. I will start a new thread for this when I get any info.




Top