Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

G10 + Hydro Lift install problems


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 OldBuzzard ONLINE  

OldBuzzard

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 805
  • 6,482 Thanks
  • 4,634 posts
  • Location: Oberlin, OH

Posted August 12, 2011 - 12:23 PM

Running into a problem installing the hydro lift on the G10.

The throttle and choke cables are in JUST the wrong place.

I looks like my only option is to run those cables THRU the belt after it's installed.

Has anyone else mounted a hydro lift on a G10? If so, how did you deal with this?

Here's a couple of pics to show you what I'm looking at.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 100_3904.jpg
  • 100_3903.jpg


#2 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,458 Thanks
  • 6,627 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted August 12, 2011 - 01:55 PM

This might not be the correct way but on my Economy Jim Dandy uses a link belt and that would make it easy for you ,to install and remove DSC07672.jpg
  • OldBuzzard said thank you

#3 OldBuzzard ONLINE  

OldBuzzard

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 805
  • 6,482 Thanks
  • 4,634 posts
  • Location: Oberlin, OH

Posted August 12, 2011 - 06:37 PM

Ya know, that's not a bad idea.

I'll have to see if I can find one narrow enough to work on the pullys.

#4 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,701 Thanks
  • 17,208 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted August 13, 2011 - 06:23 AM

The cables ride above the belt on mine..... I'm thinking since the G10 has a different engine that the cables may not be the same height.
I'd run the cables through the belt

#5 OldBuzzard ONLINE  

OldBuzzard

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 805
  • 6,482 Thanks
  • 4,634 posts
  • Location: Oberlin, OH

Posted August 13, 2011 - 07:48 AM

Yeah, the G10 seems to be the "Red headed step child" of the Bolens line.

That B&S engine has made installing this hydro lift a real pain in the patootie.

I did find this online:
Saw Accessories - 4 FT. POWERTWIST LINK BELT

Turns out that Hartville Tool isn't all that far from me so I'm gonna run down there today and try one of these. Sure will make things a lot easier IF there is one the right size.

#6 OldBuzzard ONLINE  

OldBuzzard

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 805
  • 6,482 Thanks
  • 4,634 posts
  • Location: Oberlin, OH

Posted August 19, 2011 - 06:37 PM

FINALLY got a roundtuit, and got the belt from the above post installed.

Worked slicker than a smelt, and the hydro unit is functional. :dancingbanana:

Only thing missing now is the little piece to support the snowcaster crank. I'm guessing that a piece of 1/4" flat stock with the appropriate sized holes drilled in it would suffice.

Now I gotta put new drive belts on the 800. Looking at the directions in the "sticky post", I think I'm going to need to "fortify' my self...it looks like it may be a 2 six-pack job

#7 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,485 Thanks
  • 39,719 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted August 19, 2011 - 07:30 PM

In case you need one, here's a spare.
tuit.jpg

#8 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,701 Thanks
  • 17,208 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted August 19, 2011 - 10:23 PM

FINALLY got a roundtuit, and got the belt from the above post installed.

Worked slicker than a smelt, and the hydro unit is functional. :dancingbanana:

Only thing missing now is the little piece to support the snowcaster crank. I'm guessing that a piece of 1/4" flat stock with the appropriate sized holes drilled in it would suffice.

Now I gotta put new drive belts on the 800. Looking at the directions in the "sticky post", I think I'm going to need to "fortify' my self...it looks like it may be a 2 six-pack job


Good to hear the hydraulics are working :bounce:

#9 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,701 Thanks
  • 17,208 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted December 05, 2011 - 06:26 AM

What engine do you have on that G10?

I found this service Bulletin on the routing of the cables, maybe your cables were routed wrong and thats why there was interference with the hydraulic lift?

G10 Service Bulletein (Choke cable routing) - Manuals - Garden Tractor Talk - Forums

#10 grand OFFLINE  

grand

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8
  • 1,632 Thanks
  • 1,909 posts
  • Location: PA

Posted December 05, 2011 - 08:40 AM

Nice find on the service bulletin Brian. I must say that you never give up. Keep up the great work.

#11 OldBuzzard ONLINE  

OldBuzzard

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 805
  • 6,482 Thanks
  • 4,634 posts
  • Location: Oberlin, OH

Posted December 05, 2011 - 02:45 PM

When that bulletin was issued the G10 had the TEC HH100 (73-75).

Mine is a '77 with the B&S.

Good find though.

#12 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,701 Thanks
  • 17,208 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted December 05, 2011 - 05:53 PM

When that bulletin was issued the G10 had the TEC HH100 (73-75).

Mine is a '77 with the B&S.

Good find though.


Ok,

I Couldnt remember which engine/year G10 you had




Top