Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

312 vibration problems


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 fishman OFFLINE  

fishman

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5368
  • 19 Thanks
  • 130 posts
  • Location: Dayton pa

Posted August 10, 2011 - 06:58 AM

Is it common for 300's to vibrate bad. I've seen it listed in other threads also talked to a guy out by me and he said did also. I thought it was just me.

#2 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,281 Thanks
  • 28,615 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted August 10, 2011 - 07:10 AM

Does it only do it when your mowing, or is this a constant thing?

#3 buck50bmg OFFLINE  

buck50bmg

    Member

  • Member
  • Member No: 5231
  • 1 Thanks
  • 37 posts
  • Location: Washington, Pa

Posted August 10, 2011 - 07:20 AM

Is it at a certain speed? Panels on securely?

#4 fishman OFFLINE  

fishman

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5368
  • 19 Thanks
  • 130 posts
  • Location: Dayton pa

Posted August 10, 2011 - 07:43 AM

All the time. Yes all panels tight. I'm changing motor mounts & isolators on drive shaft. Someone had taken the Jd rubber mount off plus added a 2 inch angle iron to the front mount. If anyone would have pictures of what front mount is suppose to look like. I don't no what else I'll find. But I only paid $ 50 for tractor.

#5 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted August 10, 2011 - 08:08 AM

If even 1 of your motor mounts are defective then you will get a lot of vibration. Here's the best I can do for pictures right now. The first one is of the rear mount after I had repaired the frame and was test fitting a new mount. In the second picture you can see the front mounts. Have a look at the parts diagrams to make sure you have all the mounting brackets. If you post some pictures it will be easier to see what was done.

Mount test fit.jpg
DSCF5977.jpg

#6 fishman OFFLINE  

fishman

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5368
  • 19 Thanks
  • 130 posts
  • Location: Dayton pa

Posted August 10, 2011 - 12:42 PM

Thanks that helps alot. I would send pics but I can't figure out how to do it. From my iPhone

#7 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted August 10, 2011 - 01:02 PM

I can get better pictures for you if you need them. Let us know how you're making out with it.

#8 grnspot110 ONLINE  

grnspot110

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 829
  • 3,292 Thanks
  • 2,395 posts
  • Location: North Central MO

Posted August 10, 2011 - 05:02 PM

My 314 does a t low end throttle, 300 I tried also! I've been told by a small engine mechanic this is normal if they smooth out with speed increase. "JD bought the engines without balance gears & the rubber "isolators" are to absorb the vibration at low end". ~~ grnspot
  • JDBrian said thank you

#9 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted August 10, 2011 - 06:24 PM

My 314 does a t low end throttle, 300 I tried also! I've been told by a small engine mechanic this is normal if they smooth out with speed increase. "JD bought the engines without balance gears & the rubber "isolators" are to absorb the vibration at low end". ~~ grnspot


I didn't realize that the Kohlers in the JD's didn't have the balancer. I checked the parts diagrams and there is no reference to the balancer. I guess that explains the rough running at low speed. If I remember correctly the low idle speed on my 314, according to the owners manual, is 2100-2300 rpms. The lack of the balancer explains this high speed. Thanks for this info. On the + side you don't need to worry about the balancer breaking and destroying the motor. I guess that can happen to these engines when they get a lot of hours on them.

#10 fishman OFFLINE  

fishman

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5368
  • 19 Thanks
  • 130 posts
  • Location: Dayton pa

Posted August 15, 2011 - 08:38 PM

Some pictures of what they did. The rubber u see in picture is what I tried first before getting real mount from Jd

Attached Thumbnails

  • ImageUploadedByTapatalk1313458596.644622.jpg
  • ImageUploadedByTapatalk1313458622.716325.jpg


#11 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted August 16, 2011 - 10:09 AM

They made a real mess of it for sure. Good luck getting it sorted out. The mounts are a real problem area on most 25+ year old tractors.

#12 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted August 16, 2011 - 10:14 AM

My 314 does a t low end throttle, 300 I tried also! I've been told by a small engine mechanic this is normal if they smooth out with speed increase. "JD bought the engines without balance gears & the rubber "isolators" are to absorb the vibration at low end". ~~ grnspot


I just got a look at a service manual for the 300, 316, 312,314. The original 300 had the balancers but none of the other engines have them. That makes me feel a bit better about mine being rough at low speed. The other thing is that the low speed idle setting for a 314 is 2200-2400 rpm's so they should not be running at a slow idle if set up to factory spec.

#13 fishman OFFLINE  

fishman

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5368
  • 19 Thanks
  • 130 posts
  • Location: Dayton pa

Posted August 16, 2011 - 11:57 AM

Got new mounts put on. Can't wait till I get motor back in.

Attached Thumbnails

  • ImageUploadedByTapatalk1313513829.298641.jpg
  • ImageUploadedByTapatalk1313513853.955537.jpg


#14 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted August 16, 2011 - 06:41 PM

That looks good. Did you get the mounts from JD?

#15 fishman OFFLINE  

fishman

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5368
  • 19 Thanks
  • 130 posts
  • Location: Dayton pa

Posted August 16, 2011 - 10:06 PM

Yes $140 but should help alot. It's killing me not to be out working on it but I guess that 9-5 has to come first. But Thursday I should be home so hoping to get it back together.




Top