Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

thinking about upgrading to a 149


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 ad356 OFFLINE  

ad356

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 3766
  • 9 Thanks
  • 160 posts

Posted July 31, 2011 - 10:34 PM

there is a 149 locally that has no deck but ad says a good running kohler k321 that doesnt smoke or knock for 250 bucks. my stepfather needs an engine for his 149, his tractor runs but the engine is a little worn out. his block was also bored .030 oversized already which makes future rebuild difficult. im rebuilt a k301 that im running on my 147. im thinking about buying the 149, selling the engine minus carburetor and starter/gen to my stepfather for 150 bucks. i would then have a nice wide frame tractor with hydraulic lift for 100 bucks. i could take the engine that i rebuilt and transplant it into the 149 which would give me a little nicer tractor for my own use. i could sell the 147 as a rolling chassis for 100 bucks and break even.

question i have is about the 42" i have deck, will it work on a 149? my snowblower attachment is a QA-42 so that would work with either wide or narrow frame tractors. would the mower work as well. i wouldnt feel to bad about selling the 147 since i would still have the 124 when it is done. that would give me 1 wide frame and 1 narrow frame IH cub cadets.

what do you guys think? should i step into a wide frame for dirt cheap?

#2 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,269 Thanks
  • 28,607 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted August 01, 2011 - 07:16 AM

Sounds like you have a plan. Does anyone know if there is an interchange chart for the Cubs?

#3 Gibby OFFLINE  

Gibby

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4886
  • 96 Thanks
  • 360 posts
  • Location: Butler County, Pa

Posted August 01, 2011 - 08:05 AM

Narrow and wide frame decks are interchangeable, just the mule drives are different.

#4 EricFromPa OFFLINE  

EricFromPa

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2135
  • 2,295 Thanks
  • 2,331 posts
  • Location: Bedford County Pa.

Posted August 01, 2011 - 04:22 PM

Narrow and wide frame decks are interchangeable, just the mule drives are different.


:ditto::yeah_that::iagree::ditto:

#5 ad356 OFFLINE  

ad356

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 3766
  • 9 Thanks
  • 160 posts

Posted August 02, 2011 - 08:03 AM

i figured that was the answer i was going to get i just wanted to be 100% sure. so if the tractor comes with a mule drive or i know where to get one its no problem. what do you guys think about moving into a 149. the main reason why i would like a wide frame 149 is the hydraulic lift, no to mention tighter turning radius, and removable transmission tunnel

#6 EricFromPa OFFLINE  

EricFromPa

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2135
  • 2,295 Thanks
  • 2,331 posts
  • Location: Bedford County Pa.

Posted August 02, 2011 - 04:17 PM

I hate the tranny tunnel on my 127.When I 1st got it I had a hellva time getting to the Relief valves.One was stuck open had reverse but no forward.And cleaning the fan and the fins on the pump is impossible without removing the whole transaxle.

I would swap my 127 for a wide frame in a heartbeat.Depending on it's condition.

The narrow frames still look cooler than the early wide frames.

#7 IHCubGuy OFFLINE  

IHCubGuy

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 3438
  • 1,356 Thanks
  • 1,474 posts
  • Location: Northumberland Pa

Posted August 04, 2011 - 08:30 PM

The snowblower you have for your 147, is it a QA42 or a QA42A? If its not a 42A it will not work as they are not adjustable. Just double checking as you didnt list it in your above post as a 42A.

#8 ad356 OFFLINE  

ad356

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 3766
  • 9 Thanks
  • 160 posts

Posted August 05, 2011 - 10:36 PM

The snowblower you have for your 147, is it a QA42 or a QA42A? If its not a 42A it will not work as they are not adjustable. Just double checking as you didnt list it in your above post as a 42A.



i have a qa42, anyways i went to purchase the 149 and it was already sold. so that solves that.




Top