• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 SkaneatelesGT235 OFFLINE  

SkaneatelesGT235

• Member No: 4994
  • 0 Thanks
  • 3 posts

Posted July 20, 2011 - 01:07 AM

The old girl has reached that 250 hour milepost and it's time to change the trans fluid. The manual says fill with 4.6 quarts of J-D Low-Viscosity HY-GARD (J20D) from the dealer. Naturally, it's only stocked in gallons, so I picked up two for the job. Drained the tranny from the two low-point drain locations, and got about 4.4-4.5 quarts (OK, it was a little low). I've never done this before, and was surprised at the long time, and the bloop-bloop-bloop nature, of the rear-most drain. When I attempt to replenish the new fluid at the designated fill point (under the seat), it only wants to take about 2.5-2.6 quarts. I followed the manual's recommended procedure of starting up, and slowly moving forward and backward three times. No improvement. I called the dealer's service dept., they tell me I have a trapped air bubble, and suggest elevating the rear so the wheels don't touch the ground, start 'er up, and rock forward and reverse again, to work out the air bubble. I've tried this for about a half-hour, the small white plastic upper reservoir (holds about a pint or so) is still full up to the cap, and no luck so far. I'm running out of ideas. Any suggestions ? Anyone been there before? :wallbanging:

#2 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

Super Moderator

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts

Posted July 20, 2011 - 05:43 AM