Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

12 year old pc


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 MFDAC OFFLINE  

MFDAC

    Only member from Western South Dakota!

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5815
  • 3,633 Thanks
  • 1,730 posts
  • Location: East of Rapid City, SD in Rapid Valley

Posted June 09, 2018 - 09:53 PM

Well I've bragged up my old PC working flawless all these years an not having any glitches after I went with firefox on Kenny and Alan's advice several years ago. 3 weeks ago it was still working great but I unplugged it as we were out of town for 18 days. When we got back, it gave me fits getting online. The second day it started working great again, and for 9 days it worked perfectly until last night. It booted me off the 'net and refuses to go back on it. I tried a bunch of silly stuff like reboots and turning off firewalls temporarily but nothing helped. Everything else works great as far as photo work, Itunes and other non- internet related chores I use it for.

 

All I'm saying here it bare with me as far as replying and posting here. I've got an old but nice laptop I'm using here and it is so dang uncomfortable to use that I may not be typing much! When I get a regular keyboard again on something it will be easier to be more active here.

 

DAC

Attached Thumbnails

  • 100_5629.JPG

Edited by MFDAC, June 09, 2018 - 09:55 PM.

  • 101 senior, KennyP, WNYTractorTinkerer and 4 others have said thanks

#2 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    My projects take longer so I enjoy them more...

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 3,642 Thanks
  • 4,597 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted June 10, 2018 - 07:35 AM

Life on borrowed time always has potential problems.  Is that running Windows7?


  • MFDAC and chieffan have said thanks

#3 KennyP OFFLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 41,448 Thanks
  • 47,379 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted June 10, 2018 - 07:43 AM

Also, what internet provider do you have?


  • MFDAC and chieffan have said thanks

#4 WNYTractorTinkerer ONLINE  

WNYTractorTinkerer

    Tinker Master

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10789
  • 11,504 Thanks
  • 6,161 posts
  • Location: Avon, NY

Posted June 10, 2018 - 07:59 AM

Puters!!

 

How long since you cleaned the dust out of it?  unplug it and take the mainframe into the shop, remove the cover and blast all of the dust/dirt out of it..  Be careful of the fans as they will break if you blast air on them..  (how do I know that?)  re install the cover and hook it back up..  Has worked many times on my work and personal machines..  Good Luck..


  • MFDAC and chieffan have said thanks

#5 SimplyRad OFFLINE  

SimplyRad
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 84410
  • 1,368 Thanks
  • 980 posts
  • Location: bean town in the worthless nut state

Posted June 10, 2018 - 10:51 AM

My wife has an HP and if we turn the power off to it we cannot get online without resetting the date/time on it. Check the date/time to see if it is correct. I paid an IT specialist to tell me that once. Makes you feel just a little bit stupid.


Edited by SimplyRad, June 10, 2018 - 10:53 AM.

  • MFDAC and chieffan have said thanks

#6 secondtry ONLINE  

secondtry
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 83632
  • 2,233 Thanks
  • 1,578 posts
  • Location: Washington State

Posted June 10, 2018 - 11:43 AM

Check the connection ports on your laptop. With a little research you may be able to use it as a "tower" just plug in your external key board and monitor. to the laptop. Don


  • MFDAC and chieffan have said thanks

#7 chieffan OFFLINE  

chieffan
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62695
  • 11,760 Thanks
  • 7,276 posts
  • Location: SW Iowa

Posted June 10, 2018 - 01:38 PM

Puters!!

 

How long since you cleaned the dust out of it?  unplug it and take the mainframe into the shop, remove the cover and blast all of the dust/dirt out of it..  Be careful of the fans as they will break if you blast air on them..  (how do I know that?)  re install the cover and hook it back up..  Has worked many times on my work and personal machines..  Good Luck..

 

Be careful doing that blasting.  15 to 20 PSI is plenty.  90 to 120 as most compressors are set at can break boards, etc. 


  • MFDAC said thank you

#8 MFDAC OFFLINE  

MFDAC

    Only member from Western South Dakota!

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5815
  • 3,633 Thanks
  • 1,730 posts
  • Location: East of Rapid City, SD in Rapid Valley

Posted June 10, 2018 - 01:45 PM

Life on borrowed time always has potential problems.  Is that running Windows7?

No it is so old it was running XP. That could be what happened. The internet powers that be may have cut the cord so to speak.

 

Also, what internet provider do you have?

Our provider is Mid-Continent communications.

 

Puters!!

 

How long since you cleaned the dust out of it?  unplug it and take the mainframe into the shop, remove the cover and blast all of the dust/dirt out of it..  Be careful of the fans as they will break if you blast air on them..  (how do I know that?)  re install the cover and hook it back up..  Has worked many times on my work and personal machines..  Good Luck..

It was winter of 2016-2017. I had to install a new CD burner in it and I cleaned it then. I will do it again.

 

My wife has an HP and if we turn the power off to it we cannot get online without resetting the date/time on it. Check the date/time to see if it is correct. I paid an IT specialist to tell me that once. Makes you feel just a little bit stupid.

I'll check that! This is a dual core HP Pavillion.

 

Check the connection ports on your laptop. With a little research you may be able to use it as a "tower" just plug in your external key board and monitor. to the laptop. Don

I should be able to plug a keyboard into a usb port but the monitor plug won't work. Keyboard is my biggest problem though.

 

Thanks for the comments and advice! I'll try to tinker with it some more later today.

 

DAC


Edited by MFDAC, June 10, 2018 - 01:47 PM.


#9 MFDAC OFFLINE  

MFDAC

    Only member from Western South Dakota!

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5815
  • 3,633 Thanks
  • 1,730 posts
  • Location: East of Rapid City, SD in Rapid Valley

Posted June 10, 2018 - 01:46 PM

Be careful doing that blasting.  15 to 20 PSI is plenty.  90 to 120 as most compressors are set at can break boards, etc. 

Ok I'll turn down the regulator!

 

DAC



#10 KennyP OFFLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 41,448 Thanks
  • 47,379 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted June 10, 2018 - 03:53 PM

My wife has an HP and if we turn the power off to it we cannot get online without resetting the date/time on it. Check the date/time to see if it is correct. I paid an IT specialist to tell me that once. Makes you feel just a little bit stupid.

That's the battery inside, needs replaced as it provides power to keep that current!


  • MFDAC said thank you

#11 Dee ONLINE  

Dee

    Member

  • Member
  • Member No: 1853
  • 99 Thanks
  • 86 posts

Posted June 10, 2018 - 04:11 PM

Well I've bragged up my old PC working flawless all these years an not having any glitches after I went with firefox on Kenny and Alan's advice several years ago. 3 weeks ago it was still working great but I unplugged it as we were out of town for 18 days. When we got back, it gave me fits getting online. The second day it started working great again, and for 9 days it worked perfectly until last night. It booted me off the 'net and refuses to go back on it. I tried a bunch of silly stuff like reboots and turning off firewalls temporarily but nothing helped. Everything else works great as far as photo work, Itunes and other non- internet related chores I use it for.

...

 

DAC

 

Check your modem.


  • MFDAC said thank you

#12 MiCarl ONLINE  

MiCarl
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 75926
  • 2,219 Thanks
  • 1,129 posts
  • Location: Livonia, MI

Posted June 10, 2018 - 06:13 PM

You're not going to get a current firefox for XP.  I switched my old computers to Linux Lite so I can get current browsers.  Love it.

 

When Microsoft abandons Windows 7 the last ones will go to Linux too.


Edited by MiCarl, June 10, 2018 - 06:14 PM.

  • KennyP and MFDAC have said thanks

#13 MFDAC OFFLINE  

MFDAC

    Only member from Western South Dakota!

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5815
  • 3,633 Thanks
  • 1,730 posts
  • Location: East of Rapid City, SD in Rapid Valley

Posted June 10, 2018 - 08:45 PM

That's the battery inside, needs replaced as it provides power to keep that current!

All is well with the date and time on the old HP, it's working good long as I don't try the internet!

 

Check your modem.

It can't be the modem as I'm using the same internet wire from the old HP in this laptop, and all internet in the house is good!

 

You're not going to get a current firefox for XP.  I switched my old computers to Linux Lite so I can get current browsers.  Love it.

 

When Microsoft abandons Windows 7 the last ones will go to Linux too.

You're right about current firefox support with XP, but info I found says that version3 XP will work on firefox as long as it is 64 bit. My version is 3 and my pc is a dual core 64 bit. 64 X 2 it claims.

 

I have a more usable keyboard in place now and found out the monitor that is on my 18 year old pc that powers my sign vinyl cutter works on this laptop! It's a much newer samsung flat panel monitor. The plan may be now to do Secondtry's idea of using this old laptop for the "tower". I'm going to check into installing my sign cutting programs on the 12 year old pc, but I have to see if it has a port I can use for the cutter on the back. I haven't had time to disconnect it and clean it out yet.

 

So far so good I guess!

 

DAC


Edited by MFDAC, June 10, 2018 - 08:46 PM.


#14 MFDAC OFFLINE  

MFDAC

    Only member from Western South Dakota!

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5815
  • 3,633 Thanks
  • 1,730 posts
  • Location: East of Rapid City, SD in Rapid Valley

Posted June 10, 2018 - 08:50 PM

You're not going to get a current firefox for XP.  I switched my old computers to Linux Lite so I can get current browsers.  Love it.

 

When Microsoft abandons Windows 7 the last ones will go to Linux too.

Oh, I forgot to say, that I can't even get on the net enough to try switching to Linux. I think internet explorer still has to be able to go online to make a browser change? That don't work either.

 

DAC



#15 OldBuzzard ONLINE  

OldBuzzard

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 805
  • 7,107 Thanks
  • 4,820 posts
  • Location: Oberlin, OH

Posted June 11, 2018 - 09:15 AM

It sounds like your NIC (Network Interface Controller) has bit the dust.

 

I'm guessing that it is on your motherboard, but not to worry.

 

You can get an addon NIC, install in and the drivers, and you should be good to go.

 

Here is a place to get one:

 

https://www.newegg.c...58104 600016289

 

Out of those, I'd recommend this one:

 

https://www.newegg.c...=9SIA4A06ME2958


Edited by OldBuzzard, June 11, 2018 - 09:19 AM.

  • MFDAC said thank you




Top