• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 DouglasFir OFFLINE  

DouglasFir

• Member No: 4698
  • 0 Thanks
  • 9 posts

Posted July 08, 2011 - 10:29 AM

Has anyone here used a "farm jack" to lift their lawn tractor to allow easier access for working underneath? I'm new to working on equipment and have been tinkering with two 15 year old Craftsman models. I have the engines in good shape now but I can't quite figure out how to get the things high enough to work underneath to change steering parts and blades.

Harbor Freight has a $46. "farm jack" (item 6530) that I was thinking of trying. I'm thinking of buying one and using it on the front end of the tractor---maybe attach a 4x4 across both wheels.

I know about the MoJack but they are too expensive for me.

Thanks!

#2 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,628 Thanks
  • 29,836 posts

Posted July 08, 2011 - 10:32 AM

That farm jack would NOT be safe to use! It will hold huge vertical loads, but is very unstable, and if your tractor wheel chocks slipped, you'd have a tractor dropped on you before you could twitch!

#3 ncb OFFLINE  

ncb
  • Member No: 3755
  • 51 Thanks
  • 215 posts

Posted July 08, 2011 - 02:53 PM

late 70,s i had a friend under his lowered 68 roadrunner lookin at the clutch with nothing but the old style bumper jack holding car up ,no jack stands,nothing. me and my dad stopped by ,seen what he was doing and gave him supreme crap for his stupidity and were about to leave because we didnt want to witness what may happen . he was out from under the car for all of 10 seconds when the car hit the ground and the jack stopped about 30 feet up the driveway. do yourself,friends and family a favor , think ahead and be safe cause you may not get a second chance .

#4 DouglasFir OFFLINE  

DouglasFir

• 0 Thanks
  • 9 posts

Posted July 08, 2011 - 03:01 PM