16 replies to this topic

#1 New.Canadian.DB.Owner OFFLINE  

New.Canadian.DB.Owner
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10178
  • 2,347 Thanks
  • 1,502 posts

Posted April 16, 2018 - 03:50 PM

So, I read that youtube uses algorithms or artificial intelligence to determine which commercials to show me.  I am not talking about the popup ads, just the commercial videos that interrupt the show.  Anyway, that got me thinking, can i teach it which ads not to show me, or more importantly, not to show me the commercials at all?

Apparently you can. Every time a commercial started, I closed the browser as if the ad crashed my browser, and then restarted the browser and went back to the video.  If it played a commercial again, I repeated the process a couple of times.  If it didn't stop, I would give up and come back in a week or so and try again.  I've been doing it for about three months, and I am down to one commercial every couple of weeks.  

• DH1, Cvans, boyscout862 and 6 others have said thanks

#2 WNYTractorTinkerer ONLINE  

WNYTractorTinkerer

Tinker Master

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10789
  • 11,010 Thanks
  • 5,978 posts

Posted April 16, 2018 - 04:03 PM

They get paid every time the commercial starts to play so you're making them rich anyway!  In order to watch commercial free you have to...

YUP-  Give them $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$..  

(Just like this website!)  

I just mute E-mercial and turnt he sound back on when they end.  Also you can skip many E-mercials after 5 seconds (Skip commercial box appears)

BTW--  If you are jonesing for commercials you can always turn on the TV!!

• boyscout862, New.Canadian.DB.Owner and Doxey have said thanks

#3 mac102004 ONLINE  

mac102004

Tractorholic

• Contributor
  • Member No: 1420
  • 393 Thanks
  • 436 posts

Posted April 16, 2018 - 04:41 PM

I just use an ad blocker. Some of the money from the ads goes to the video creators as well though, not just YT.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk