• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Purviscw779 OFFLINE  

Purviscw779
  • Member No: 89519
  • 5 Thanks
  • 7 posts

Posted February 11, 2018 - 07:12 PM

I'm new to the Massey Ferguson garden tractors, but not to garden tractors as I have a few old classics soften around. I just bought a MF10 a few days ago for $20 and it looks to be complete minus the engine. Eventually it will be restored to original condition but for now I have a 5hp Briggs & Stratton I/C engine I want to put on it to try it out. It has the vari-drive on it and I need to know does it take a special pulley on the engine or will any pulley work as long as it's the right diameter and width? I do not have the mower deck so I don't need the second groove all I want is to be able to use the vari-drive. Any help will be much appreciated.

#2 HANKG OFFLINE  

HANKG
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 29484
  • 6,614 Thanks
  • 3,539 posts

Posted February 12, 2018 - 10:22 AM

Welcome aboard, we have a manual section that may help you I would think a 3'' dia pulley would suffice.

#3 HowardsMF155 OFFLINE  

HowardsMF155

Tractorholic

• Member No: 4243
  • 2,985 Thanks
  • 3,026 posts

Posted February 12, 2018 - 07:27 PM

I'm new to the Massey Ferguson garden tractors, but not to garden tractors as I have a few old classics soften around. I just bought a MF10 a few days ago for $20 and it looks to be complete minus the engine. Eventually it will be restored to original condition but for now I have a 5hp Briggs & Stratton I/C engine I want to put on it to try it out. It has the vari-drive on it and I need to know does it take a special pulley on the engine or will any pulley work as long as it's the right diameter and width? I do not have the mower deck so I don't need the second groove all I want is to be able to use the vari-drive. Any help will be much appreciated.