• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 propane1 ONLINE  

propane1
  • Member No: 54307
  • 8,723 Thanks
  • 4,131 posts

Posted February 09, 2018 - 08:05 PM

I watch a lot of ground plowing videos, I love plowin. I watch old tractors and garden tractors mostly. And I plow with my Ferguson tractor and my garden tractors. And have been doin this for five to six years. And I am not an expert at it. I just like plowin.

My question is, why , in most of the garden tractor plowing videos, is the coulter not used. Would the plowing not be easier if the coulter was used ? Most videos that I’ve seen, the coulter is removed or placed in the up position.
Just wondering.

Noel
  • Gtractor, boyscout862 and Austen have said thanks

#2 chieffan ONLINE  

chieffan
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62695
  • 10,164 Thanks
  • 6,642 posts

Posted February 09, 2018 - 08:11 PM

Depends on the type of ground they are plowing.  If it has a trash cover, the coulter is used to cut the trash ahead of the plow.  If the coulter does not cut the trash first it will build up in front of the plow and plug it.  If no or very little trash cover is there the coulter is not needed.  I leave the coulter on all the time.  Don't hurt anything and don't have to mess with putting it back on and adjusting.

• lyall, KennyP, boyscout862 and 3 others have said thanks

#3 propane1 ONLINE  

propane1
  • 8,723 Thanks
  • 4,131 posts

Posted February 09, 2018 - 08:43 PM

What about sod though. I saw one video today that was long green grass and they were not using the coulter.

Noel
  • Mark 149 J. said thank you

#4 chieffan ONLINE  

chieffan
  • Contributor
  • 10,164 Thanks
  • 6,642 posts

Posted February 09, 2018 - 09:00 PM