16 replies to this topic

#1 Bellevillerod OFFLINE  

Bellevillerod
  • Member No: 89285
  • 8 Thanks
  • 10 posts

Posted January 22, 2018 - 02:00 PM

Hi all

Well I should introduce myself, I'm Rod from Michigan. I'm a Tool maker by trade working in the auto industry in Detroit. Many hobbies all outdoors stuff, and I like to refurbish anything old. I recently became the owner of two SS16's. A 1974 & 1976 they came with a 10" plow, 3pt hitch, two decks 42&48, Dozer blade, wheel weights, chains, front weight and a spike harrow. I bought a piece of land from a lady and these where in a shed, left for me to dispose of. The condition of all of this equipment is great, I cleaned the carb on the 1976 tractor changed the oil added a new battery and it started right up.

I had it out today driving it, well playing with it and when I pushed the clutch/brake I felt a pop. The clutch refused to return and I found I had broken the return spring. So I have been on this site from the day after I found the tractors reading everything I could find. Got the manuals for almost all my stuff. I see that there are people here that have lots of knowledge with these. So #1 what do I use to replace my broken one? & #2 How big a job is it to get in there to fix it? Any tricks, suggestions I'm open to anything that will get me back behind the wheel. 

Thanks in advance great site lots of info on here.

Rod

• Jazz said thank you

#2 KennyP OFFLINE  

KennyP

FORDoholic

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 38,418 Thanks
  • 45,945 posts

Posted January 22, 2018 - 02:21 PM

:wave:  Welcome to the forum! I'm sure someone will be able to help you out.

• boyscout862 said thank you

#3 jms180 OFFLINE  

jms180

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1266
  • 1,517 Thanks
  • 1,567 posts

Posted January 22, 2018 - 04:16 PM