3 replies to this topic

#1 Madcap30 OFFLINE  

Madcap30
  • Member No: 89179
  • 5 Thanks
  • 10 posts

Posted December 28, 2017 - 03:26 PM

Hi All, 

I am still learning about MF tractors before I buy one. I am looking at a MF12 as my other machines are bigger Kohler units. 

How do the Variable Speed drives work? Are they a typical gear box? I was under the impression that it was some type of belt drive. 

Another question....all things being equal between two tractors, would there be any reason to chose the vari-speed over a hydro?

Lastly, how hard is it to find a set of the wheel covers for these tractors?

Thanks

Adam

Edited by Madcap30, December 28, 2017 - 03:30 PM.

• MFDAC said thank you

#2 boyscout862 OFFLINE  

boyscout862
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8923
  • 15273 Thanks
  • 10026 posts

Posted December 28, 2017 - 07:09 PM

I'm not sure about the vari drive on MF but on my Simplicity it is variable pulleys and a belt. It can be a PIA to keep adjusted and expensive for a new belt. I'd go with the hydro. Wheel covers come up occassionally in a wide variety of conditions. On Epay they are very expensive. I have gotten some on the GTs that I buy. The last set had actually rotted through in small spots. Good Luck, Rick
  • MFDAC said thank you

#3 Madcap30 OFFLINE  

Madcap30
  • Member No: 89179
  • 5 Thanks
  • 10 posts

Posted December 28, 2017 - 07:29 PM

Thanks Rick! I would imagine that the wheel covers would rot if the tractors saw much snow duty. 

I see some of the Techumseh engines that have what looks like a belt running off the outside of the flywheel under the shroud, while other just have a small bump for a starter bendix. Did some of them have a starter/ generator like to Kohler engines?

• limebuzz said thank you

#4 MFDAC OFFLINE  

MFDAC

Only member from Western South Dakota!

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5815
  • 3708 Thanks
  • 1771 posts

Posted December 28, 2017 - 09:17 PM