Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Kohler twin question


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Alltractoredup OFFLINE  

Alltractoredup
  • Member
  • Member No: 88728
  • 17 Thanks
  • 36 posts
  • Location: Minnesota

Posted December 25, 2017 - 12:35 PM

Does anybody have experience and success putting a carb from a CH25 on a ch22 stock engine with success? Im just getting started and thought someone may help out.

#2 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 15,273 Thanks
  • 18,230 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted December 26, 2017 - 11:47 AM

you need to run the model spec and serial numbers to determine if the numbers will interchange, with so many changes between models I would highly doubt they fit



#3 Alltractoredup OFFLINE  

Alltractoredup
  • Member
  • Member No: 88728
  • 17 Thanks
  • 36 posts
  • Location: Minnesota

Posted December 26, 2017 - 08:50 PM

It bolts up, curious if the additional air/fuel would be too much for the CH22



#4 dodge trucker ONLINE  

dodge trucker
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 19314
  • 2,678 Thanks
  • 3,329 posts
  • Location: kankakee

Posted January 09, 2018 - 07:37 PM

no as they only "take" as much as the V.E. of the engine will allow...... that's how you could put an 850 CFM 4 barrel on a small V8 and not flood it out.....

carb CFMs is like electricity.... just because you run a 20 amp breaker doesn't mean there's 20 amps going thru that line at any given time.... if the breaker's on, and nothing's plugged in and running, there is no current flow.. same way with a carb. Even if rated for 850 CFM, if the engine will only inhale 245 CFM then you will only GET that 245 CFM thru that carburetor.


  • JCraig said thank you

#5 Alltractoredup OFFLINE  

Alltractoredup
  • Member
  • Member No: 88728
  • 17 Thanks
  • 36 posts
  • Location: Minnesota

Posted January 22, 2018 - 06:03 PM

no as they only "take" as much as the V.E. of the engine will allow...... that's how you could put an 850 CFM 4 barrel on a small V8 and not flood it out.....
carb CFMs is like electricity.... just because you run a 20 amp breaker doesn't mean there's 20 amps going thru that line at any given time.... if the breaker's on, and nothing's plugged in and running, there is no current flow.. same way with a carb. Even if rated for 850 CFM, if the engine will only inhale 245 CFM then you will only GET that 245 CFM thru that carburetor.



#6 Alltractoredup OFFLINE  

Alltractoredup
  • Member
  • Member No: 88728
  • 17 Thanks
  • 36 posts
  • Location: Minnesota

Posted January 22, 2018 - 06:03 PM

Thank you for the clarification. It makes sense

#7 slufkin OFFLINE  

slufkin
  • Member
  • Member No: 44606
  • 6 Thanks
  • 5 posts
  • Location: Argyle,NY

Posted January 24, 2018 - 12:46 PM

no as they only "take" as much as the V.E. of the engine will allow...... that's how you could put an 850 CFM 4 barrel on a small V8 and not flood it out.....

carb CFMs is like electricity.... just because you run a 20 amp breaker doesn't mean there's 20 amps going thru that line at any given time.... if the breaker's on, and nothing's plugged in and running, there is no current flow.. same way with a carb. Even if rated for 850 CFM, if the engine will only inhale 245 CFM then you will only GET that 245 CFM thru that carburetor.

Not completely true. You are correct in thinking that the engine will only inhale its displacement X RPM/2, but... An oversized carburetor will not atomize fuels as efficiently as a correctly sized one because the air will move thru it much slower, so you will hurt performance by putting on a carburetor that is too big.


  • 1oldbuzz said thank you

#8 dodge trucker ONLINE  

dodge trucker
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 19314
  • 2,678 Thanks
  • 3,329 posts
  • Location: kankakee

Posted January 24, 2018 - 01:28 PM

Well remember when they were putting 800 CFM q--jets on puny 305 and 307 v8s??? Even with a turbo those engines wouldn't have consumed that volume of air.

#9 dropped82 OFFLINE  

dropped82

    Nut Case

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 9923
  • 2,633 Thanks
  • 1,869 posts
  • Location: Indiana

Posted January 24, 2018 - 10:18 PM

Well remember when they were putting 800 CFM q--jets on puny 305 and 307 v8s??? Even with a turbo those engines wouldn't have consumed that volume of air.

The q-jet was a variable cfm based on vacuum the engine could put to the carb. Higher the displacement, the more pull, the more the secondaries opened up. Reason being was GM being able to use that carb on anything from a 267 v8 to the 454 with none/minor changes. Most of those engines would never see the full open secondaries.

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk

Edited by dropped82, January 24, 2018 - 10:19 PM.

  • 1oldbuzz said thank you

#10 dodge trucker ONLINE  

dodge trucker
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 19314
  • 2,678 Thanks
  • 3,329 posts
  • Location: kankakee

Posted January 25, 2018 - 07:36 AM

will the "good" carb bolt on and hook up, linkage wise,  to the engine that you're wanting to run it on? Bolt it up and try it.  Are there mixture screws on this "good" carb" That will go a ways towards making it feasible.






Top