Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

adjustable link V-belt for hydraulics


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 todapuckett OFFLINE  

todapuckett
  • Member
  • Member No: 83303
  • 26 Thanks
  • 39 posts
  • Location: rougemont nc

Posted December 04, 2017 - 09:58 PM

Hey all, hope everyone is ready for winter.  Does anyone have any real experience using the adjustable link (Power-twist or Accu-link) belts on the hydraulics?  My belt is getting ready to break and I really want to get through the winter before cracking everything apart to replace it and hang a spare if the adjustable belts work.  Otherwise, I need to go ahead and get it done now. 


  • MNGB said thank you

#2 secondtry ONLINE  

secondtry
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 83632
  • 4850 Thanks
  • 2854 posts
  • Location: Washington State

Posted December 04, 2017 - 10:35 PM

  Put one on my Atlas lathe with no problem. Harbor Freight version. They are cheep enough to experiment with. I really don't know how much power they can transmit effectively or for how long but they are easy to replace. If it breaks just put a few new links in and go. Don 


  • KennyP, boyscout862, MNGB and 1 other said thanks

#3 Cvans OFFLINE  

Cvans
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5412
  • 9542 Thanks
  • 7289 posts
  • Location: East central SD.

Posted December 04, 2017 - 10:55 PM

I have had one on a 3/4 hp 8" bench grinder for years now with good result. That thing really jumps when you hit the switch and it has held up. I think what really surprised me is how little adjustment it has needed over the years.  Less than a regular belt.

 

Wouldn't hesitate to try one on something else. 


  • KennyP, boyscout862, MNGB and 1 other said thanks

#4 Alc OFFLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 9079 Thanks
  • 8320 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted December 05, 2017 - 06:27 AM

On my 1968 Jim Dandy that uses the Century pump , there was one on it when I bought it from the original owner back in mid eighties . I replaced it with one bought at a bearing and seal shop a few years later and have had no problems using it with this pump ,

Attached Thumbnails

  • post-1094-0-68807700-1414843894.jpg

  • Cvans, MNGB and todapuckett have said thanks

#5 chieffan OFFLINE  

chieffan
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62695
  • 16380 Thanks
  • 9034 posts
  • Location: SW Iowa

Posted December 05, 2017 - 08:21 AM

The link belts work well.   Just make sure you get the right width for the pulley.  Not positive but I think the green belts at about 9/16" wide where the red ones are 1/2".  A wide on on narrow pulleys will not last very long.  Tried that on a power steering pump on a tractor as a quick fix.  Didn't work over 10 min.  I run the red ones on most of my wood shop power tools, 6" sanders, jointer, 220V table saw, scroll saw, 1" belt/disc  sander etc.


  • Alc, boyscout862, MNGB and 1 other said thanks

#6 todapuckett OFFLINE  

todapuckett
  • Member
  • Member No: 83303
  • 26 Thanks
  • 39 posts
  • Location: rougemont nc

Posted December 05, 2017 - 07:51 PM

Thanks everyone, I am going to give it a try.  I will keep the old belt hanging in reserve just in case, and I will keep you all updated


  • Cvans, MNGB and secondtry have said thanks

#7 secondtry ONLINE  

secondtry
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 83632
  • 4850 Thanks
  • 2854 posts
  • Location: Washington State

Posted December 05, 2017 - 08:06 PM

Thanks everyone, I am going to give it a try.  I will keep the old belt hanging in reserve just in case, and I will keep you all updated

   We would all appreciate it if you report back on your results Don


  • Cvans said thank you

#8 shaeff OFFLINE  

shaeff
  • Member
  • Member No: 89051
  • 73 Thanks
  • 48 posts
  • Location: NY

Posted December 05, 2017 - 10:27 PM

First post here, I just installed a red Grizzly Power Twist brand link belt on my PK, ran it for about 2 hours so far and all is well. My father had the mower deck chained up to his preferred cut height because he couldn't find the belt years ago. The belt for mine measures 1/2".


  • Cvans said thank you

#9 Ryan313 OFFLINE  

Ryan313

    PK Fanatic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7087
  • 3441 Thanks
  • 5250 posts
  • Location: Wallkill, NY

Posted December 10, 2017 - 08:06 PM

The adjustable belts work fine, like al said they used them from the factory.

 

The link belts are mainly used on woodworking tools because they have very little vibration, that's why everybody above has them on their shop equipment!!


  • Cvans said thank you

#10 Cvans OFFLINE  

Cvans
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5412
  • 9542 Thanks
  • 7289 posts
  • Location: East central SD.

Posted December 10, 2017 - 10:44 PM

I haven't checked if this is true or not but I would think they would run cooler than a regular V belt.






Top