Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Air compressor Oil level


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 pryan05 OFFLINE  

pryan05

    LGT

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 84973
  • 571 Thanks
  • 320 posts
  • Location: Sudbury, Ontario

Posted September 23, 2017 - 06:27 PM

I bought this air compressor head to build a bigger compressor.  I don't have a make or model for it so I can't really look up any information on it.  I would like some help on how high the oil level should be.  It was to the top of the T when I got it.  I changed the oil and filled it to the same level,  it just seems like a rather small amount of oil.  Any ideas or help is appreciated.20170923_191010.jpg 20170923_190937.jpg  


Edited by pryan05, September 23, 2017 - 06:28 PM.


#2 poncho62 ONLINE  

poncho62
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 42
  • 1,341 Thanks
  • 1,519 posts
  • Location: Hanover, Ont, Canada

Posted September 23, 2017 - 06:35 PM

You take that top plug out and fill it to there, so you have it right.....the bottom plug is to drain the oil when changing it. There is a splasher on the bottom of the rod to spread the oil around


Edited by poncho62, September 23, 2017 - 06:37 PM.

  • boyscout862 and pryan05 have said thanks

#3 pryan05 OFFLINE  

pryan05

    LGT

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 84973
  • 571 Thanks
  • 320 posts
  • Location: Sudbury, Ontario

Posted September 23, 2017 - 06:47 PM

You take that top plug out and fill it to there, so you have it right.....the bottom plug is to drain the oil when changing it. There is a splasher on the bottom of the rod to spread the oil around

That's what I was thinking!  Peace of mind!  Thanks Poncho!  These units sure are quieter then the oil-less ones.  I can hear myself think while it runs. 



#4 poncho62 ONLINE  

poncho62
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 42
  • 1,341 Thanks
  • 1,519 posts
  • Location: Hanover, Ont, Canada

Posted September 23, 2017 - 07:52 PM

Gotta find a new tank for mine.....its rusting out at the bottom. A few pinhole leaks right now


  • pryan05 said thank you

#5 TomLGT195 OFFLINE  

TomLGT195
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 29432
  • 3,575 Thanks
  • 2,716 posts
  • Location: Southern New Hampshire

Posted September 24, 2017 - 03:06 PM

Mine has a higher separate fill. That plug on the side of yours is my site glass for the fill height.


Edit; I'm sure every brand is different. Look at different brands and see if you find one like yours?

Edited by TomLGT195, September 24, 2017 - 03:07 PM.

  • pryan05 said thank you




Top