Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

IPv.6 ??


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted June 26, 2011 - 10:26 AM

Good Day Guys, When I got online this morning, I had a meesage from Yahoo that I needed to upgrade to IP v. 6. Has anyone changed over to this from v.4, and is there any issues? Thanks

#2 olcowhand OFFLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,650 Thanks
  • 29,840 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted June 26, 2011 - 10:46 AM

Is Yahoo your browser then? I use Firefox.

#3 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted June 26, 2011 - 11:07 AM

Daniel, I use IE 8 and also I am learning how to use firefox. I use Yahoo as my search engine, home page and E-mail .

#4 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,483 Thanks
  • 39,716 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted June 26, 2011 - 05:50 PM

I got the new e-mail a couple days ago. No problems yet. Rest of it looks the same.

#5 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted June 27, 2011 - 05:00 AM

Most everything is capable of working with the new IP v6 format. Problem is when they came up with the original IP.v4 numbering system they didn't realize how big the internet was going to be at that time. Now they are running out of ip addresses and hence the IP.v6. With the new format there is no worries of ever running out of ip addresses.

#6 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,483 Thanks
  • 39,716 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted June 27, 2011 - 05:13 AM

Daniel, I use IE 8 and also I am learning how to use firefox. I use Yahoo as my search engine, home page and E-mail .

Brian, nearly every time I use IE 8, I get a virus. Don't use it unless I have to for some sites. Then run scans as soon as I close it.

#7 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted June 27, 2011 - 05:19 AM

Brian, nearly every time I use IE 8, I get a virus. Don't use it unless I have to for some sites. Then run scans as soon as I close it.


I don't use Internet Explorer either. You can get viruses with any other browser also but it seems hackers target IE because it still is the most widely used browser out of all of them.

#8 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted June 27, 2011 - 11:11 AM

I have Firefox on both of my machines, work and home. It is going to take my awhile to get used to the different format.

George, is it OK then to change over to the IP v.6 software?

#9 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted June 27, 2011 - 05:05 PM

Brian, I am not sure what Yahoo has that would require updating unless they are meaning your browser? Upgrading should be fine though as it should be backwards compatible because there will always be IP.V4 addresses out there on the net.

#10 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,483 Thanks
  • 39,716 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted June 27, 2011 - 06:15 PM

I still haven't figured out what this is. I ain't got nutin' like that on this puter.

#11 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted June 27, 2011 - 07:08 PM

Here is a good read if you are ever bored LOL

IPv6 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
  • KennyP said thank you

#12 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,483 Thanks
  • 39,716 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted June 28, 2011 - 05:04 AM

Didn't understand some, but got the idea of what it's for. Thanks for the link. Don't believe this old puter can handle some of the new-fangled stuff.

#13 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted June 28, 2011 - 05:17 AM

I don't use Internet Explorer either. You can get viruses with any other browser also but it seems hackers target IE because it still is the most widely used browser out of all of them.



I also NEVER use I.E. anymore,just Firefox and Chrome,although almost entirely Firefox now.

#14 jec013 OFFLINE  

jec013

    Member

  • Member
  • Member No: 4696
  • 1 Thanks
  • 11 posts

Posted July 07, 2011 - 10:30 PM

I've never heard of a website asking you to change to IPv6. I would be very cautious about changing anything.

#15 Tobal OFFLINE  

Tobal

    Member

  • Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 4710
  • 3 Thanks
  • 64 posts
  • Location: Amarillo Texas

Posted July 26, 2011 - 08:07 AM

I'm not sure you switch to IPv6, that request would come from your ISP not your search engine.




Top