• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 deereowner OFFLINE  

deereowner

• Member No: 4179
  • 0 Thanks
  • 10 posts

Posted June 22, 2011 - 06:30 PM

I recently purchased some Gator blades to try out. When I have the PTO turned on, I hear, what sounds to be the blades hitting the deck. However, it isn't a constant noise. It is a rattle every 5 seconds or so. It seems to be coming from only one of the three blades too. It doesn't matter if the throttle is all the way open or barely running. I also had moved all the blades around after putting all the blades on, and there was, what seemed to be a lot of room everywhere. I will also note the Gator blades came with an extra washer that was supposed to be put on above the blade, and that was installed.

Question #2- Any tips/pointers on how you guys take off your decks and flip them over to work on them or change blades? As I am new to this, it may be an obvious answer, but I am thinking it is a lot of horsing a 60" deck around and there has got to be an easier way. I have a couple ideas, but wondering what the experts do.

Any opinions on these things would be appreciated.

#2 poncho62 ONLINE  

poncho62
  • Member No: 42
  • 634 Thanks
  • 1,220 posts

Posted June 22, 2011 - 06:42 PM

Sounds like a blade may be loose......

I dont take the deck off to change blades....I jack it up with a floor jack and lay on the ground......Getting harder for this old phart

#3 caseguy OFFLINE  

caseguy

Connoisseur of Rusty Junk

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 906
  • 1,624 Thanks
  • 5,600 posts

Posted June 22, 2011 - 06:47 PM

First, I am not a professional by anyone's definition LOL!

The first question I can't help you with. I haven't ever used the gator blades...and frankly they kinda scare me. I don't like the sharp angles with no relief cut at the bottom. I saw some pics here of one that had come apart at that very spot.