• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 rcknrolfender79 OFFLINE  

rcknrolfender79
  • Member No: 87870
  • 1 Thanks
  • 10 posts

Posted August 04, 2017 - 11:21 PM

Hello, I just acquired an old case /ingersoll 448 today in a trade for an old farm truck I had. I just need to put a starter on it(which is on the way already) and we'll be in business.

I am new to the tractor world in general and have some questions. Im super excited about this little tractor and cant wait to get some attachments and have fun working with it.

It has a 3 point with a hydraulic lift. First off the top piece/bar of the 3 point is missing.. what is that called and should I be concious of size when buying one or are the 3 points on the little GT's the same size as larger tractors?

How big can you usually go with the attachments for these little GT's? Lets say an angle blade or a box blade... 4ft, 5ft, 6ft? Disc plow? How much weight can it realistically lift with a boom or pallet fork? Will it lift/move a pallet with a V8 small block or maybe even a big block?

I notice some case 448's have a rear hydraulic valve and handle to use a snow blower, wood chipper, tiller, hydraulic brush hog, etc.. mine does not have this valve and handle.. can I buy it and install it to gain this functionality? If so whats it called, where to buy(already checked ebay), approximate cost and how big of a job?

What are some Notable Front attachments and components needed to use certain front attachments that I should be aware of?

Thanks

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-J320AZ using Tapatalk

#2 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

FORDoholic

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 35,190 Thanks
  • 44,177 posts

Posted August 05, 2017 - 04:14 AM

:wave:  Welcome to the forum. Can't help with what the tractor is capable of. But the part for the 3-point you need is a top link. Here's one at TSC.

• boyscout862 said thank you

#3 boyscout862 OFFLINE  

boyscout862