9 replies to this topic

#1 ShotgunWedding OFFLINE  

ShotgunWedding
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 84933
  • 248 Thanks
  • 117 posts

Posted July 24, 2017 - 02:41 PM

Up here in Southwestern Ontario, just harvested all my hard-neck garlic.  Pretty good crop this year, good size, nice color and looks like I picked in a  good time as the wrappers are still intact, maybe 5% seem a bit late.  These are a variety I got 26 years ago from a Croatian neighbour who brought them from the old country, I've been growing and selecting for quality with them for the last 26 years.  A few pics of the digging, the wagon full and of course a GT pic. Anyway, enjoy!

Attached Thumbnails

• 113.jpg
  • 114.jpg
  • 11.jpg
  • 112.jpg
  • 115.jpg

• KennyP, tractorgarden, WrenchinOnIt and 7 others have said thanks

#2 HANKG OFFLINE  

HANKG
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 29484
  • 5,979 Thanks
  • 3,290 posts

Posted July 24, 2017 - 05:16 PM

Nice crop, and that cart is awesome.
  • KennyP, boyscout862 and ShotgunWedding have said thanks

#3 chieffan OFFLINE  

chieffan
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62695
  • 8,799 Thanks
  • 6,034 posts

Posted July 24, 2017 - 07:11 PM

Never tried to grow garlic.  Looks real good though.  Pulling onions in the morning.

• boyscout862 and ShotgunWedding have said thanks

#4 Alc OFFLINE  

Alc

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 6,428 Thanks
  • 7,234 posts

Posted July 24, 2017 - 07:18 PM

I've tried growing garlic but never as nice as yours . How did you know when to pull them out ?
  • boyscout862 and ShotgunWedding have said thanks

#5 ShotgunWedding OFFLINE  

ShotgunWedding
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • 248 Thanks
  • 117 posts

Posted July 25, 2017 - 07:45 AM

Thanks HANKG, I had it custom made at a farm equipment dealer, he is now making more...hopefully he sells some.  It was pricey.

Weight has to be over 350lbs

• KennyP said thank you

#6 ShotgunWedding OFFLINE  

ShotgunWedding