Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Bolens Ride a matic belts


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 ih674 OFFLINE  

ih674

    Member

  • Member
  • Member No: 2737
  • 8 Thanks
  • 36 posts
  • Location: Cumbria, UK

Posted June 20, 2011 - 04:31 PM

Hi, i would like toi know the official belt sizes for a manual start ride-a-matic, i think its a 233-01. If anyone could help it would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,
James

#2 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,684 Thanks
  • 17,204 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted June 21, 2011 - 05:54 AM

The smaller belt should be 171-2911
The larger belt would be 171-2912

Today I will look these up in my Book and see what I can cross reference for you.
  • ih674 said thank you

#3 ih674 OFFLINE  

ih674

    Member

  • Member
  • Member No: 2737
  • 8 Thanks
  • 36 posts
  • Location: Cumbria, UK

Posted June 21, 2011 - 07:06 AM

thank you very much that would be great.

#4 ih674 OFFLINE  

ih674

    Member

  • Member
  • Member No: 2737
  • 8 Thanks
  • 36 posts
  • Location: Cumbria, UK

Posted June 22, 2011 - 06:32 AM

Just got 2 belts, one 5/8" x 29" and 5/8 x 35" as per the manual and your part numbers. The 29" belt fits fine but there is no way on this earth the 35" belt with go over the pullys. I have a 37" belt that fits on and the tractor drives but the ride a matic system is on full all the time because the 37" belt is too slack. Would it be worth getting hold of a 36" belt just for trial purposes just to see if it works. Somthing odd seems to be going on...

#5 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,684 Thanks
  • 17,204 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted June 22, 2011 - 07:39 AM

Yes, I just looked up your belts last night but forgot to post.
You are correct on the sizes.

If you look on the partslist you will see "spec" I believe that is supposed to read "special" Usually when the belt is listed as special it is somehow slightly different then your average 5/8x35'' belt.

What kind of belts did you get?

#6 ih674 OFFLINE  

ih674

    Member

  • Member
  • Member No: 2737
  • 8 Thanks
  • 36 posts
  • Location: Cumbria, UK

Posted June 22, 2011 - 08:06 AM

They are "Specialist Lawnmower Belts" that are designed for application where the belts are used as a clutch. Here they are: Kevlar Drivebelts 5L (5/8") Top Width

Many thanks,
James

#7 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,684 Thanks
  • 17,204 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted June 22, 2011 - 08:13 AM

ok, I was just making sure these were the kevlar belts and not just regular rubber belts.

If your still having trouble with the 37'' I'd try the 36

#8 ih674 OFFLINE  

ih674

    Member

  • Member
  • Member No: 2737
  • 8 Thanks
  • 36 posts
  • Location: Cumbria, UK

Posted June 22, 2011 - 08:14 AM

Yes, i might give it a go, theyre not expensive and theyll take that one back. Do you have any idea why my tractor doesnt seem to like these belts?

#9 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,684 Thanks
  • 17,204 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted June 22, 2011 - 08:24 AM

Is there a way you can take some pictures of the tractor's pulley's/ belt system?

#10 ih674 OFFLINE  

ih674

    Member

  • Member
  • Member No: 2737
  • 8 Thanks
  • 36 posts
  • Location: Cumbria, UK

Posted June 22, 2011 - 08:36 AM

DSCF4378.jpg Here is a picture of the tractor with the speed lever thing in both the fast and slow position.

Thanks,
James

Attached Thumbnails

  • DSCF4379.jpg


#11 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,684 Thanks
  • 17,204 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted June 22, 2011 - 04:59 PM

Looks like everything is how it should be.....
I guess the only thing left to try is that 36'' belt.

It would be nice to find an OEM belt, so you could try and find an aftermarket to the exact specifications.
The Bolens Belts may have had a deeper "v" than the new ones your using

#12 Bruce Dorsi ONLINE  

Bruce Dorsi

    Old, but not dead -- yet!

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1525
  • 3,173 Thanks
  • 2,144 posts
  • Location: New Jersey

Posted June 23, 2011 - 12:14 AM

[ATTACH=CONFIG]16241[/ATTACH][ATTACH=CONFIG]16240[/ATTACH]Here is a picture of the tractor with the speed lever thing in both the fast and slow position.

Thanks,
James


The intermediate pulley should be a dual groove, and the center flange of the pulley must be free to move side to side to obtain the variable speeds. ....Check that the flange moves easily.

I believe the 35" belt is the correct size. .....It's been many years since I worked on one, but I think you have to fight the spring tension to get the belt on. .....You need to get the intermediate pulley where the the center flange moves to the side allowing the smallest diameter so the belt can be put on. .....It will probably be easiest to install the belt onto the upper pulley first, and then "roll" it onto the lower pulley while you fight the spring tension.
  • Bolens 1000 said thank you




Top