• Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#1 TerribleCj OFFLINE  

TerribleCj
  • Member No: 87662
  • 17 Thanks
  • 26 posts

Posted July 17, 2017 - 02:03 PM

Looking for some advice on my first tractor. I already have a good, fast 52" mower so I'm not looking for any mowing capabilities. This will be used to manage about an acre that will be tilled and plowed constantly. I also wouldnt mind some llight snow-clearing capability. I've been hunting around and the Sears tractors from the 60's and 70's appeal the most to me. I've seen what looks to be some good deals but I want the most bang for my buck. I emailed about an SS16 with deck and a couple plow for $250 but he had already sold all the implements. Otherwise it look like most of them are well under a grand. I've seen a couple of cub-cadets that looked ok that are from the same era for around the same price but I'm a newbie in this area. I collect and repair vintage and antique outboards so I think upkeep shouldnt be a problem. I also saw an ST/16 and an SS12 that looked pretty nice but again, I want the most tractor I can get for my dollar. Thanks for any input, I'm open to advice

#2 boyscout862 OFFLINE  

boyscout862
  • Member No: 8923
  • 11,644 Thanks
  • 8,596 posts

Posted July 17, 2017 - 05:35 PM

Welcome to GTT. I urge you to be patient and see what comes your way. The old Tecumseh engines are getting harder and more expensive to get parts. Prices are all over the place on most GTs. If you are willing to knock on doors where there is a dead one sitting in the yard, you may come up with a freebie. I picked up a Simplicity 3410 with a rotted deck for free a couple of weeks ago. It needs a bunch of work but I probably won't have to put more than $100 in parts. Simpilicities and Bolens were the most popular with many different attachments.