Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Wheel Horse A-60 need electrical help


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 sacsr OFFLINE  

sacsr

    Bush Hog Addict

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4776
  • 3,436 Thanks
  • 3,354 posts
  • Location: Eastern NC

Posted June 23, 2017 - 06:50 PM

My new purchase. I want to wire it to run the drive motor only. I don't plan on running the deck and want to have to put on battery in it and go. Looking st the diagram this should be possible since it shows that 1 battery drives that transmission motor. Any help/suggestions would be appreciated
57af9349e60a37022737f3273d08b009.jpgc29399e7b02a08b08a1b36a36bc322df.jpg
7862222cd174f2f0280dde062be0c94c.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Edited by sacsr, June 23, 2017 - 09:21 PM.

  • Oldford said thank you

#2 DH1 ONLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 5,105 Thanks
  • 5,503 posts

Posted June 23, 2017 - 08:10 PM

Neat little horse you got there Scott. 

I think you need 3 batteries, 36volts to run the drive motor.

Is the 100amp fuse good?

Is the safety switch good?

Is the key switch good?

Is the Traction solenoid good?

There's not much else besides wires and connections.


  • sacsr and Oldford have said thanks

#3 CRFarnsworth OFFLINE  

CRFarnsworth

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6275
  • 4,456 Thanks
  • 2,045 posts
  • Location: Rossville Illinois

Posted June 23, 2017 - 08:26 PM

Neat little horse you got there Scott. 

I think you need 3 batteries, 36volts to run the drive motor.

Is the 100amp fuse good?

Is the safety switch good?

Is the key switch good?

Is the Traction solenoid good?

There's not much else besides wires and connections.

What he said!       You should be able to drive it without engaging the blade motors.   If you are worried about the blades engaging, then disconnect the  mower switch.    Rick  


  • DH1 and sacsr have said thanks

#4 sacsr OFFLINE  

sacsr

    Bush Hog Addict

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4776
  • 3,436 Thanks
  • 3,354 posts
  • Location: Eastern NC

Posted June 23, 2017 - 09:20 PM

I was hoping to just run one battery to the transaxle motor. I saw a guy in Evansville that had jumped wired it that way. But looking at the pictures I took of his, he had taken the fuse out and was jumping from the battery directly to the transmission solenoid - not even using the solenoid for the deck motors. I just did not want to burn something up- he suggested I run a 70 amp breaker to prevent any damage. One that would just automatically open and close if it got too hot. I just wanted it to be able to run 30 minutes or so - more for moving it around. But I don't want to mess it up by doing something wrong.5d6d8690a2b1be595a815d33444cc002.jpgf376a3067a39c8cae6173970d7f004da.jpg

Edited by sacsr, June 23, 2017 - 09:23 PM.

  • Oldford said thank you

#5 DH1 ONLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 5,105 Thanks
  • 5,503 posts

Posted June 23, 2017 - 09:33 PM

If you replaced the Traction Solenoid with a 12volt solenoid and wired it up as in the drawing it would work. Run on 12volts.

 

12volts isn't enough to turn on a 36volt solenoid. How does he turn on and off the motor?


  • sacsr said thank you

#6 sacsr OFFLINE  

sacsr

    Bush Hog Addict

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4776
  • 3,436 Thanks
  • 3,354 posts
  • Location: Eastern NC

Posted June 23, 2017 - 10:28 PM

Note the red wire attached to the post with the blue wire. That is coming from the post the positive from the battery is connected too. He says that's what he did to get it to run with 12volts. But looks like he has taken out the fuse piece to do this. The metal fuze is missing from post to post. Wish I had taken a better picture

#7 Oldford OFFLINE  

Oldford
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 50409
  • 1,134 Thanks
  • 786 posts
  • Location: n.e.

Posted June 24, 2017 - 11:48 AM

Nice score.  I have built and wired motorcycles from scratch, rewired garden tractors, boats, even built 48v electric bicycles from scratch.  I even have a college degree although it's just for readin and writin.'  But i am just not smart enough to figure out these old electric tractors.  It amazes me how smart some of you guys are.


  • sacsr said thank you

#8 sacsr OFFLINE  

sacsr

    Bush Hog Addict

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4776
  • 3,436 Thanks
  • 3,354 posts
  • Location: Eastern NC

Posted June 24, 2017 - 12:11 PM

I am not either on these electric tractors- I have enough batteries to keep up with now- was hoping to keep this one to 1 but may have to use 3.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#9 crittersf1 OFFLINE  

crittersf1

    GT Lunatic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 26142
  • 4,195 Thanks
  • 5,791 posts
  • Location: Newport, N.C.

Posted June 24, 2017 - 12:56 PM

Scott, where's the gas tank? :poke:


  • sacsr said thank you




Top