• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 1badMF OFFLINE  

1badMF

• Member No: 2096
  • 1 Thanks
  • 35 posts

Posted June 14, 2011 - 12:27 AM

Well i finally got a chance to play with my massey after staring @ it for 3 months while the other projects got cleaned up. I cleaned the Carb. Put new brushes in the starter. It popped right off, but barely responded to throttle position. after tinkering with the carb for awhile it would only hit about 40% rpm with violent pops out the exhaust, I mean violent!, and no power. I decided pull the head to check Ign. timing and glance at cam timing. Cam timing looks to be good. but ign timing is .300" ATDC! How is that possible. The guy i bought it from said he replaced the short block (used the original flywheel and stator plate on the new engine) is there different stators for the 8hp tecumseh? I dont have enough room to adjust the plate and the lobe is fixed on the crank. I am not a master mechanic but I do have a strong background with small engines, although I am brand new to tecumseh. any Ideas?

#2 1badMF OFFLINE  

1badMF

• 1 Thanks
  • 35 posts

Posted June 14, 2011 - 12:17 PM

Looks like it has the 3amp A.C. charging system.

#3 Tinkerer OFFLINE  

Tinkerer

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 259
  • 18 Thanks
  • 200 posts

Posted June 14, 2011 - 07:43 PM

Is there a chance that the cam gear and crankshaft gear are off one tooth? The only way to tell is to pull the case off and check. With it being .300" off I would lean towards the gears being off a tooth or two. Good luck and keep us posted as to what you find out.

Jonathan

#4 MH81 OFFLINE  

MH81

Proud to be Deplorable

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 29,962 Thanks
  • 29,757 posts

Posted June 14, 2011 - 10:55 PM