• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 TravisK OFFLINE  

TravisK
  • Member No: 86428
  • 7 Thanks
  • 7 posts

Posted April 20, 2017 - 07:16 PM

My newish to me MF10 has a habit of going from full to half throttle because of the vibration working the dash lever down. I'm curious if this is a problem others have had and fixed? The levers behind the dash don't appear to have any adjustment at all. It appears the plastic washers meant to hold the lever in position have disintegrated and there isn't enough friction to hold the cable against the force of the spring on the carb. I think I can drive out the pressed fulcrum on the lever and replace it with a serrated washer and locking nut, but I hate to do that without consulting the hive mind.

Perhaps related is that the tractor dies below half throttle which makes me wonder if the travel at the carb isnt "matching" the travel at the dash lever. I'm a novice at tuning carbed engines but I think the full throttle sounds right and perhaps the half throttle position isn't truest low idle.
  • propane1 said thank you

#2 propane1 ONLINE  

propane1
  • Member No: 54307
  • 7,985 Thanks
  • 3,861 posts

Posted April 20, 2017 - 07:58 PM

I think you've answered your own questions and have the trouble figured out. Any of those levers I have, have an adjustment to tighten them up, so they stay in place. My JD and a Ford I have, have that adjustment. I was having trouble with them.

Noel.
  • boyscout862 and TravisK have said thanks

#3 MH81 OFFLINE  

MH81

Proud to be Deplorable

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 29,957 Thanks
  • 29,757 posts

Posted April 21, 2017 - 06:47 AM

I have seen some that have been lightly peened to increase tightness... but you'll want to watch going to far

#4 TravisK OFFLINE  

TravisK
  • Member No: 86428
  • 7 Thanks
  • 7 posts

Posted April 21, 2017 - 07:27 PM