20 replies to this topic

#1 Fronzizzle OFFLINE  

Fronzizzle
  • Member No: 86485
  • 2 Thanks
  • 4 posts

Posted April 15, 2017 - 03:39 PM

Hello all,

I'm a newbie property owner/lawn tractor user.  My wife and I bought 1.6 acres back in November, it is mostly lawn.  My brother had a Craftsman 42" lawn tractor, Model 917.258543 that was just sitting in his garage.  He bought it new years ago - in 2002 or 2003, I think - used it for one season and then parked it in his garage.

I put new tires on it, a new battery, changed the oil, took the carb apart and cleaned it and got it running when we moved in, then parked it until it was time to cut the grass.

Yesterday, I started it up to cut the grass and...well, it didn't go well.  The mower started and ran fine, but as soon as I dropped the attachment and engaged it, the motor stopped.  I restarted it, started moving and it stopped again.  This continued for a few seconds, I finally got smart enough to turn and look at the grass and wow - it was almost bald.  The blade was obviously too low.  So, I turned the adjustment knob as far as it would go - I tried both directions - with no luck.  Eventually, I had to put the attachment in the Up position and then I was able to cut the grass.

When I finished, I took the mower into the garage and got into a little bit, but I really have no idea what I'm looking at.  A couple of things I did find:

* The attachment lift lever only has two positions, Up and Down.  This isn't a model that has multiple positions like some of the newer ones.

* The adjustment knob - if turned too far one way or the other - will stop the lever from working.  For example, if the deck is in the Up position and the knob is turned too far, then you can't move the lever to put the deck in the Down position.  This might be normal but thought I should bring it up.