• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 dodge trucker ONLINE  

dodge trucker
  • Member No: 19314
  • 2,122 Thanks
  • 2,836 posts

Posted April 13, 2017 - 09:51 PM

I have been playing with these engines since I was ~12 years old, over 35 years worth... been thru lots of Tecumseh carbs. this never used to be an issue but has been for the past few years now...

It don't matter whether I use genuine parts or aftermarket, lately after I boil a carb and replace the needle and seat, about 1/2 the time the engine can run fine but when sitting between uses, they will empty the gas tank into the crankcase.... found that with one of my push mowers this past Saturday.... changed oil, mowed my yard, parked it, went to Mom's and got her mowers going for the 1st time of teh season and mowed her yard, came home, went to pull my same mower that I had used~4 hours before and in 4 hours time it did the same thing, had to change oil again before using it on my neighbor's yard. Checked it again the next morning, same thing again....

What did they change the material of the seat to as compared to what they used to use?

I am gettin sick of redo's....

• boyscout862 said thank you

#2 boyscout862 OFFLINE  

boyscout862
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8923
  • 12,169 Thanks
  • 8,887 posts

Posted April 13, 2017 - 10:44 PM

I've found with mine that since the kits are old the rubber seats have shrunk and gotten hard with age. I now install a fuel shutoff valve between the tank and the carb. I shut it off before I shut down the engine. Sometimes the gas seems to soften them. You might also check that your float isn't sinking. Good Luck, Rick

• DougT said thank you

#3 MH81 OFFLINE  

MH81

Proud to be Deplorable

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 29,963 Thanks
  • 29,757 posts

Posted April 14, 2017 - 05:00 AM

Not just teccy. Had a problem with a Kohler a co unless years back... ended up just putting the shut off on it. Tires of the worry.