9 replies to this topic

#1 ad356 OFFLINE  

ad356

Tractorholic

• Member No: 3766
  • 9 Thanks
  • 160 posts

Posted June 12, 2011 - 02:42 PM

i got that old wheelhorse running for that lady from work. it runs great but i still have to go back, it has other issues. i think the starter solenoid is bad. turn key, will not crank only a click sound. i dont think the solenoid is passing voltage to the starter, i think its a bad solenoid. jump across the solenoid it fires right up. i had to clean the carburetor of old stale gas. also has a bad seat switch. i bypassed the seat switch, still doesnt crank with key. other issues, deck has a frozen spindle from sitting. i got it a little freed up but its still very stiff. how much for a new spindle? where do i look up parts prices and who sells the parts?? toro? also needs a flywheel screen, new fuel line, and filter. all of those are easy fixes.

deck seems to be model 05.42.m505, im new to working on wheelhorses so im not 100% sure
it seems to be a very well built machine. cast iron axle, creeper gear, all of that good garden tractor stuff. woman also has a snowblower attachment. it has sat a number of years because she cannot afford to take it to a "shop". she paid me 40 bucks to get it running and all i did was a carburetor flush. she is going to pay me an additional 200 bucks after everything is fixed. not too bad for 240 bucks. i dont mind working on it either, bringing quality back to life is the name of my game.

#2 jhn9840 OFFLINE  

jhn9840

• Member No: 10
  • 126 Thanks
  • 184 posts

Posted June 12, 2011 - 03:18 PM

Love see those old horses come back to life. www.partstree.com or www.toropartsdistributors.com should be able to help in your parts search. Ebay has a lot of wheelhorse parts as well. Any pics of her?

jhn9840
John

#3 Operator OFFLINE  

Operator

• Member No: 1871
  • 8 Thanks
  • 27 posts

Posted June 12, 2011 - 08:10 PM