• Please log in to reply
79 replies to this topic

#1 Joe Knife OFFLINE  

Joe Knife
  • Member No: 59190
  • 109 Thanks
  • 111 posts

Posted March 19, 2017 - 06:37 PM

A couple years ago I recovered my grandfather's 1967 Ford 100 from his barn (before it was demolished) and brought it home. I've just recently started working on it in earnest. My thread for the tractor resto is here: http://gardentractor...62-my-ford-100/

Honestly I went into this project hoping the engine would start and run without much effort, only because it "ran when parked" in 2001. I thought about hooking up a battery and trying it, even. I could turn the flywheel by hand and it felt smooth. 

Today I finally got to looking into the engine and I'm REALLY glad I didn't try to start and run it!

IMG_5043.JPG IMG_5046.JPG

IMG_5050.JPG IMG_5056.JPG

(These pics are upright on my PC but sideways here, not sure why)

I've never worked on an engine before (at least, not the inside). About all I know is what I've seen in a couple isavetractors videos on YouTube. My intention is to update this thread as I go, I'm sure I'll have questions and learn a lot.

Where I'm at right now is, can't get the screws off the flywheel screen. I'll try for a couple more days and then I'll drill them out--I guess I could then just re-tap as needed right?

Edited by Joe Knife, March 19, 2017 - 06:37 PM.

• Bolens 1000, Gtractor, chris m and 5 others have said thanks

#2 Gtractor ONLINE  

Gtractor

The Tractor Hoarder

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 782
  • 8,638 Thanks
  • 4,702 posts

Posted March 19, 2017 - 06:46 PM

You need an "impact driver" to get those screws lose.  HF Tools has-em for about $5 but they usually break the tips right quick.

Best of luck on your rebuild!  Looking forward to following along.

• Newpaws493 and Joe Knife have said thanks

#3 stiemmy OFFLINE  

stiemmy
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 53712
  • 2,527 Thanks
  • 1,827 posts