#1 LilysDad OFFLINE  

LilysDad

Millennium Falcon

• Contributor
  • Member No: 10443
  • 12,243 Thanks
  • 9,185 posts

Posted March 05, 2017 - 02:53 PM

I'd like to know if there is someone on here that is a proffessional paint and body man? I'm thinking there are plenty of people on here who could benefit from a tutorial on painting how-to.

In the mean time, I have a question about primer; How do you decide what color of primer to use, or does it matter?

• Alc, backwoods, case1man and 2 others have said thanks

#2 KC9KAS OFFLINE  

KC9KAS
  • Member No: 10038
  • 5,204 Thanks
  • 4,588 posts

Posted March 05, 2017 - 04:37 PM

I am not a professional painter, nor do I portray one on TV, but I think primer color is somewhat depandent on the final color you plan to use.

Also, the primer and the final paint need to be compatable with each other.

My wife says she is going to learn how to paint with a spray gun...The Gilson resto last year made her want to NEVER use a "rattle can" again!

• backwoods, LilysDad, case1man and 1 other said thanks

#3 DougT OFFLINE  

DougT

Dog Approved

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 584
  • 6,681 Thanks
  • 4,845 posts

Posted March 05, 2017 - 04:40 PM

The primer color isn't real critical but it can affect the final color coat. If the final color is light, use a light primer. If you are doing major body work, you can use different colors of primer for each coat and you will be able to tell where your at when you sand down through it.

#4 chieffan ONLINE  

chieffan
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62695
  • 8,819 Thanks
  • 6,051 posts

Posted March 05, 2017 - 06:38 PM

You use a rattle can just like a spray gun.  To many hold the nozzle down and move the can all over the place and get runs and bare spots.  Same thing will happen with a spray gun if it is not used correctly.

• LilysDad, case1man and MGP59DB have said thanks

#5 MGP59DB OFFLINE  

MGP59DB
  • Member No: 66960