• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Schwarzkopf9 OFFLINE  

Schwarzkopf9
  • Member No: 84559
  • 44 Thanks
  • 46 posts

Posted February 22, 2017 - 12:44 PM

Hey guys, i feel awkward bringing up a row crop tractor on a GT forum but, here goes!

Stated in on our family's f20, fixing up the head, valves, manifold etc. My problem is the exhaust valve guides look shot. I can source some guides but, i have never done guides before. They've been in the head since 1937 so, I'm assuming they are pretty much stuck. Anyone have experience in this area? Ill add some photos...
  • jimmy G said thank you

#2 Schwarzkopf9 OFFLINE  

Schwarzkopf9
  • 44 Thanks
  • 46 posts

Posted February 22, 2017 - 12:48 PM

Not that pretty yet, paint to come (hey its been outside for 40 years!)

Attached Thumbnails

• 0222171133c.jpg
  • 0131171200d.jpg
  • 0131171200d.jpg

#3 Schwarzkopf9 OFFLINE  

Schwarzkopf9
  • 44 Thanks
  • 46 posts

Posted February 22, 2017 - 12:51 PM

Upside down again...maybe KennyP can help again?

#4 Schwarzkopf9 OFFLINE  

Schwarzkopf9
  • 44 Thanks
  • 46 posts

Posted February 22, 2017 - 12:51 PM

Phones...

#5 jimmy G OFFLINE  

jimmy G
  • Member No: 78021
  • 1,017 Thanks
  • 678 posts

Posted February 22, 2017 - 01:16 PM

When it comes to head work like this I go to the machine shop,if you are going back to original and need pics or information I have a few F20's,very cool old red you have,their is a thread on here looking for comments on heritage tractors
  • Alc and boyscout862 have said thanks

#6 Bill 76 ONLINE  

Bill 76
  • Member No: 49625
  • 1,839 Thanks
  • 1,154 posts

Posted February 22, 2017 - 03:14 PM

If it were mine I would take it to an engine shop and have the guides machined out and have them press in the new guides , also have them grind the seats , Lots of new guides the valve stem hole and the outside of guide are not concentric and the valve won't seat properly .