Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Bypassing the old transistor circuit board ( I think) Ariens GT 16


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 whymecoyote OFFLINE  

whymecoyote
  • Member
  • Member No: 82247
  • 19 Thanks
  • 23 posts
  • Location: Oklahoma

Posted February 01, 2017 - 09:39 PM

Wm gave me some links to electrical manuals. Also I chatted with an Ariens collector on Facebook so I think I know how to bypass the old transistor circuit board. I am not sure however so I thought I would expose my inexperience here first. I do not want to ruin anything. I am going to unplug the board and the PTO switch. Then I am going wire 12 volts from the battery to the PTO switch. Also I will connect the wire that goes to the electric clutch to the PTO switch.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 20170131_162453725.jpg
  • Ariensfi01.jpg


#2 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6172
  • 4,779 Thanks
  • 4,881 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted February 01, 2017 - 09:57 PM

That should work.
  • whymecoyote said thank you

#3 Wm McNett OFFLINE  

Wm McNett

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1428
  • 121 Thanks
  • 165 posts
  • Location: Adrian, MI 49221

Posted February 01, 2017 - 09:57 PM

You could rewire the whole thing.
There are 2 other wires missing from that diagram. I'll bet they have something to do with the start and run circuits.

Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
  • whymecoyote said thank you

#4 whymecoyote OFFLINE  

whymecoyote
  • Member
  • Member No: 82247
  • 19 Thanks
  • 23 posts
  • Location: Oklahoma

Posted February 01, 2017 - 10:24 PM

I am smart enough to know that i am inexperienced so I will go slow and think it over.

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • Screenshot at 2017-02-01 20:14:29.png
  • running.png

Edited by whymecoyote, February 01, 2017 - 10:26 PM.

  • shorty said thank you

#5 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6172
  • 4,779 Thanks
  • 4,881 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted February 01, 2017 - 10:34 PM

Take it one step at a time as you understand the diagrams. Keeps it simple and fun.
  • whymecoyote said thank you

#6 John Arsenault OFFLINE  

John Arsenault
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 76279
  • 1,683 Thanks
  • 904 posts
  • Location: Maine

Posted February 02, 2017 - 09:24 AM

Looks to me all it is is a burnt diode , they are easy to solder in new ones with a decent soldering gun. You just need to know the amps of it so that you can get the correct one....its a 12v ??amp diode. 

 

 

Seems to me 1 is the main power feed from the battery so if thats the diode thats burnt out you won't be getting power to anything. A burnt diode is like a broken wire. 

 

I think I would go for the repair on the circuit board before attempting a rewire. 


  • whymecoyote said thank you

#7 GardnMastr OFFLINE  

GardnMastr
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 85758
  • 333 Thanks
  • 169 posts
  • Location: Heart of Indiana

Posted February 02, 2017 - 09:45 AM

A diode repair would be the best. A new wire to the switch is bypassing the operator presence system (safety).If I couldn't do the diode repair I'd think about putting a relay in my new power supply wire, with a seat switch as the operator presence control. If you fall off the machine the pto goes off. Just thinking out loud.


  • whymecoyote said thank you

#8 DougT OFFLINE  

DougT

    Dog Approved

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 584
  • 6,678 Thanks
  • 4,843 posts
  • Location: north central Ohio

Posted February 02, 2017 - 09:57 AM

Another suggestion would be to wire an inline fuse in the red wire in your first post. The closer to the battery you put it, the better.


  • shorty and whymecoyote have said thanks

#9 John Arsenault OFFLINE  

John Arsenault
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 76279
  • 1,683 Thanks
  • 904 posts
  • Location: Maine

Posted February 02, 2017 - 10:09 AM

The purpose of a diode is simply a one way electrical check valve, Just to help you understand its function. 


  • whymecoyote said thank you

#10 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6172
  • 4,779 Thanks
  • 4,881 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted February 02, 2017 - 10:20 AM

I think touching the circuit board is opening a can of worms that you want closed at this point. Just get the machine running and the bugs worked out. There will be time later to get the electric straight. Just wire it like you proposed. It will save you many headaches.
  • whymecoyote said thank you

#11 Wm McNett OFFLINE  

Wm McNett

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1428
  • 121 Thanks
  • 165 posts
  • Location: Adrian, MI 49221

Posted February 02, 2017 - 10:33 AM

Just to get it working and not having to hack anything at this point.

Make up 2 jumper wires with 1/4" male terminals on both ends.

unplug the connector from the board, jumper the 3rd connector (yellow wire to pto switch) to the 4th connector (red wire from ignition switch) this will supply power to the pto switch all the time, unless your battery is dead ;)

also have to jumper the 1st connector (yellow wire from seat switch) to the 2nd connector (black wire to ingition switch) so you can get it started.

Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
  • shorty and whymecoyote have said thanks

#12 John Arsenault OFFLINE  

John Arsenault
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 76279
  • 1,683 Thanks
  • 904 posts
  • Location: Maine

Posted February 02, 2017 - 10:34 AM

https://www.youtube....h?v=FVUKktkYhTQ

 

 

 

If its already broken , its always worth a shot to fix it. specially is its just a simple soldering job. 

 

 


  • whymecoyote said thank you

#13 Wm McNett OFFLINE  

Wm McNett

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1428
  • 121 Thanks
  • 165 posts
  • Location: Adrian, MI 49221

Posted February 02, 2017 - 11:05 AM

I have 3 of these boards. Something other than the diode is fried on all 3. Haven't determined what, didn't want to desolder each component to test.
You'll probably find out that even after replacing the diode, with a larger one, that it still doesn't work.

It'd be quicker to build or buy the newer time delay circuit.

The early boards were built with the bare minimum sized components. Later boards have over sized components because someone at Ariens realized that a little corrosion, bad connection, somewhere in the circuit was causing too much resistance for their perfect world that works on paper.

e73ece07aeb6eee4e2a1d710b0ee9180.jpg

8dd8124a60204135ff5ccca16a9e8058.jpg

How to build the time delay is in this forum and how to install it is in the manual.

Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
  • Alc and whymecoyote have said thanks

#14 Wm McNett OFFLINE  

Wm McNett

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1428
  • 121 Thanks
  • 165 posts
  • Location: Adrian, MI 49221

Posted February 02, 2017 - 12:19 PM

Wile I was out running around, I took this picture of my quick and easy bypass on my loader tractor.

I needed to use it one day and it died on me. Been running it like this for 3 years now

94e7404af5131783cf09ee19cb3660b3.jpg

Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
  • Alc, KennyP, shorty and 1 other said thanks

#15 Wm McNett OFFLINE  

Wm McNett

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1428
  • 121 Thanks
  • 165 posts
  • Location: Adrian, MI 49221

Posted February 02, 2017 - 12:24 PM

As you can see, it's not like the instructions I've given in the previous post.
#1 to #3 and #2 to #4

Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
  • shorty and whymecoyote have said thanks




Top