Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

cub 1811

running rough

  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Loon64 OFFLINE  

Loon64
  • Member
  • Member No: 66342
  • 103 Thanks
  • 66 posts
  • Location: wareham ma

Posted January 26, 2017 - 01:29 PM

I have a cub with a kohler magnum 18 and it is running rough and not to familiar with this motor

 Have changed the plugs and fresh gas. I got this cub 1811 and it has been sitting in a garage.

It looks like it has been worked pretty hard.

Any suggestions would be nice.            Thanks Dave!   


  • toppop52 said thank you

#2 Mark 149 J. ONLINE  

Mark 149 J.

    Mark J.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 78623
  • 2,338 Thanks
  • 1,322 posts
  • Location: Kennewick, Washington

Posted January 26, 2017 - 01:44 PM

I have the same tractor.  If the tractor has been sitting for some time, it's most likely the carb. needs to be rebuilt.  They are a very simple carb. to take apart, clean, and reassemble. You can even find videos on youtube that will show you how to rebuild them. 

Another problem that these engines have is the fuel pump.  The pump diaphram will tear and leak gas into the oil of the engine.   Just remove the dipstick and smell the oil for gas.  You can also download the engine manual from the manual section of this site.

 

Good luck!


  • KennyP and Loon64 have said thanks

#3 toppop52 OFFLINE  

toppop52
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54420
  • 5,245 Thanks
  • 4,754 posts
  • Location: Lower Eastern Shore of Maryland

Posted January 26, 2017 - 01:44 PM

Probably needs a thorough carburetor cleaning, common issue nowadays.
  • Loon64 said thank you

#4 Loon64 OFFLINE  

Loon64
  • Member
  • Member No: 66342
  • 103 Thanks
  • 66 posts
  • Location: wareham ma

Posted January 26, 2017 - 01:56 PM

Thank's I'll try that. It sounds like it should be electrical because it is skipping 


  • Mark 149 J. said thank you

#5 Mark 149 J. ONLINE  

Mark 149 J.

    Mark J.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 78623
  • 2,338 Thanks
  • 1,322 posts
  • Location: Kennewick, Washington

Posted January 26, 2017 - 02:56 PM

Thank's I'll try that. It sounds like it should be electrical because it is skipping 

Assuming "skipping" means missing.   This can be due to lack of fuel.  Lack of fuel makes the engine run lean causng a misfire.  Dirt and corrosion can plug the ports in the carb reducing the amount of fuel making it to the cylinder.  This is a common problem when any engine sit for a while.  It is possible that you have a problem with a plug wire or even the coil but because it's been sitting I'd start with the carb.  If one cylinder is consistanly missing all the time then it could be due to lack of compression in that cylinder.  I replaced the head gaskets and resurfaced the head to make it flat on my 1811.  I did this because the compression was low.  This is something that you can check later if the carb. rebuild doesn't fix the problem.  

 

Also, make sure the cooling fins on the engine are clean of dirt, grease, and grass by removing some of the tin around the engine and blowing compressed air to remove the debris. 


  • Loon64 said thank you

#6 Loon64 OFFLINE  

Loon64
  • Member
  • Member No: 66342
  • 103 Thanks
  • 66 posts
  • Location: wareham ma

Posted January 26, 2017 - 03:02 PM

Thank's, Alot to take in but one step at a time.


  • Mark 149 J. said thank you

#7 Mark 149 J. ONLINE  

Mark 149 J.

    Mark J.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 78623
  • 2,338 Thanks
  • 1,322 posts
  • Location: Kennewick, Washington

Posted January 26, 2017 - 03:06 PM

Thank's, Alot to take in but one step at a time.

That's a great way to accomplish anything!


  • Loon64 said thank you

#8 Loon64 OFFLINE  

Loon64
  • Member
  • Member No: 66342
  • 103 Thanks
  • 66 posts
  • Location: wareham ma

Posted January 27, 2017 - 05:42 PM

pulling my log splitter today and the 1811 fouled both plugs? 

 Starting to think $500 was a little mutch 



#9 olds45512 OFFLINE  

olds45512
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 77943
  • 1,339 Thanks
  • 677 posts
  • Location: Indiana PA

Posted January 27, 2017 - 07:23 PM

pulling my log splitter today and the 1811 fouled both plugs? 
 Starting to think $500 was a little mutch

when my 1811 was doing that I rebuilt the carb and it ran great, it's most likely just in need of a good cleaning and make sure you adjust the float properly.
  • Loon64 said thank you

#10 Loon64 OFFLINE  

Loon64
  • Member
  • Member No: 66342
  • 103 Thanks
  • 66 posts
  • Location: wareham ma

Posted February 23, 2017 - 05:33 PM

when my 1811 was doing that I rebuilt the carb and it ran great, it's most likely just in need of a good cleaning and make sure you adjust the float properly.

replaced fuel pump and rebuilt the carb and plowed a lot snow! Thanks Again!!


  • Mark 149 J. said thank you

#11 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 38,243 Thanks
  • 45,874 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted February 23, 2017 - 05:44 PM

replaced fuel pump and rebuilt the carb and plowed a lot snow! Thanks Again!!

So it's running good again?


  • Loon64 said thank you

#12 Loon64 OFFLINE  

Loon64
  • Member
  • Member No: 66342
  • 103 Thanks
  • 66 posts
  • Location: wareham ma

Posted February 23, 2017 - 06:27 PM

So it's running good again?

Ya not bad, I'd like to change the plug wires but it looks like I'd have to take off the oil filter lines or pull the motor



#13 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 38,243 Thanks
  • 45,874 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted February 23, 2017 - 06:31 PM

It has a remote filter? I have an M18, but it's running real sweet.


  • Loon64 and Mark 149 J. have said thanks

#14 olds45512 OFFLINE  

olds45512
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 77943
  • 1,339 Thanks
  • 677 posts
  • Location: Indiana PA

Posted February 23, 2017 - 07:56 PM

Ya not bad, I'd like to change the plug wires but it looks like I'd have to take off the oil filter lines or pull the motor

the plug wires are not replaceable, they're part on the magneto which costs around $80.
  • Loon64 and Mark 149 J. have said thanks

#15 Mark 149 J. ONLINE  

Mark 149 J.

    Mark J.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 78623
  • 2,338 Thanks
  • 1,322 posts
  • Location: Kennewick, Washington

Posted February 23, 2017 - 09:31 PM

replaced fuel pump and rebuilt the carb and plowed a lot snow! Thanks Again!!

Good!


  • Loon64 said thank you




Top