Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Kohler command 16hp oil block off plate?

kohler

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 kmm0912 OFFLINE  

kmm0912
  • Member
  • Member No: 84592
  • 64 Thanks
  • 37 posts
  • Location: Michigan

Posted January 24, 2017 - 11:16 PM

Need to find out, Kohler command 16hp engine equipped with an oil filter....

Does the oil HAVE to travel through the oil filter to properly lube the engine.

Basically, can I put a block off plate in place of the filter.

#2 Eric OFFLINE  

Eric
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 41778
  • 1,253 Thanks
  • 783 posts
  • Location: Wisconsin

Posted January 25, 2017 - 01:53 AM

I would not recommend removing the filter as the manufacturer put it there for a reason. I don't have any experience with that motor but it is always better to be safe than sorry. If it happens that your filter is inoperable for some reason you may be able to rebuild it or find an in line oil filter and then make or buy a block off plate.

#3 chieffan ONLINE  

chieffan
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62695
  • 8,425 Thanks
  • 5,828 posts
  • Location: SW Iowa

Posted January 25, 2017 - 08:08 AM

I agree with Eric.  That filter was put there to filter the impurities out of the oil.  Put a new filter on and forget about any blocking off.  Just asking for trouble in my opinion.



#4 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 34,253 Thanks
  • 43,377 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted January 25, 2017 - 08:14 AM

There won't be anyway for the oil to circulate with out it.



#5 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6172
  • 4,577 Thanks
  • 4,711 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted January 25, 2017 - 09:57 AM

Is this for a repower with little room for the filter?

#6 stiemmy OFFLINE  

stiemmy
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 53712
  • 2,455 Thanks
  • 1,801 posts
  • Location: Freekin cold central WI

Posted January 25, 2017 - 01:23 PM

If space is the issue with using the stock filter in it's proper location, remote oil filter kits are available.

#7 kmm0912 OFFLINE  

kmm0912
  • Member
  • Member No: 84592
  • 64 Thanks
  • 37 posts
  • Location: Michigan

Posted January 25, 2017 - 02:35 PM

Is this for a repower with little room for the filter?


Yes.

#8 skyrydr2 OFFLINE  

skyrydr2

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5032
  • 3,819 Thanks
  • 3,364 posts
  • Location: Gardner, Massachusetts!

Posted January 26, 2017 - 04:30 AM

You need to find a remote oil filter kit for it. As it needs that filter to live a long prosperous life.

#9 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6172
  • 4,577 Thanks
  • 4,711 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted January 26, 2017 - 05:58 AM

Like others have said, explore the remote filter a bit. Depending on your application there might not be room for the lines either.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: kohler

Top