Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Air compressor help.


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 TomLGT195 OFFLINE  

TomLGT195
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 29432
  • 3,274 Thanks
  • 2,531 posts
  • Location: Southern New Hampshire

Posted January 22, 2017 - 03:58 PM

I'll start with a little background.
I recently moved and the compressor came with me. I drained the oil laid the compressor down , moved it and now fast forward to this week. I filled it with the correct oil following the manual for amount as well. I wired it up and started it. 40 seconds later it shut off. The compressor has a low oil shut off factory installed. That switch is the culprit, I hit the reset and only went for 5-10 seconds.
So here's the question??
Do you think the switch needs to replaced, or there is something ( dirt) screwing it up? So far the only thing I could find ( online)was that it may have a filter/ screen that could be dirty/clogged. Here's a pic of the low oil switch. It's a champion compressor model VR5-8
IMG_2457.JPG
Similar to this pic but with the automatic tank drain, bigger motor with a magnetic starter and the low oil shutoff. image.jpg
Any suggestions welcome.

Edited by TomLGT195, January 22, 2017 - 03:59 PM.


#2 petrj6 OFFLINE  

petrj6
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 53717
  • 4,079 Thanks
  • 2,369 posts
  • Location: petersbrgh ny

Posted January 22, 2017 - 04:21 PM

   well if it can be taken apart and cleaned you should try that first otherwise you could bypass it to just get the comp running (not recommended) How much is a new switch? maybe just replace if not to expensive just to get the peace of mind.

                                                                                                                              Pete


  • TomLGT195 said thank you

#3 TomLGT195 OFFLINE  

TomLGT195
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 29432
  • 3,274 Thanks
  • 2,531 posts
  • Location: Southern New Hampshire

Posted January 22, 2017 - 05:23 PM

well if it can be taken apart and cleaned you should try that first otherwise you could bypass it to just get the comp running (not recommended) How much is a new switch? maybe just replace if not to expensive just to get the peace of mind.
                                                                                                                              Pete

That's the plan I hope. This week I'll try taking it apart. I did post this question on an air compressor site too , hope to get a diagram of what I'm up against before I "pop" it open.

#4 ol' stonebreaker OFFLINE  

ol' stonebreaker
  • Validating
  • Member No: 12515
  • 1,684 Thanks
  • 1,148 posts
  • Location: idaho

Posted January 22, 2017 - 05:29 PM

  I'd remove the three screws and try to find what's wrong if possible.

                                       Mike


  • TomLGT195 said thank you

#5 Cvans ONLINE  

Cvans

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5412
  • 5,793 Thanks
  • 5,745 posts
  • Location: Eastern SD.

Posted January 22, 2017 - 05:32 PM

That switch looks to be pressure operated. Is this true? Some sense the level. I wouldn't be operating it until you know for sure that you have oil pressure.



#6 Bill 76 ONLINE  

Bill 76
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 49625
  • 1,832 Thanks
  • 1,147 posts
  • Location: 5miles west of Milwaukee Wisconsin

Posted January 22, 2017 - 05:50 PM

If you laid it on its side maybe air got in the lines , Try cracking the lines loose and start it up to bleed them out.


  • TomLGT195 said thank you

#7 glgrumpy ONLINE  

glgrumpy

    Getting Out!

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8360
  • 8,166 Thanks
  • 7,598 posts
  • Location: Huntington, IN 46750 North East in State

Posted January 22, 2017 - 05:55 PM

Yeah, I bet air in passages and no oil getting to the switch. Can you back it out and let oil run out a bit?  Let enough come out to make sure Whole passage is filled. OR, is there a screw to pull and use an oil gun or ??? to squirt some oil into system?



#8 pryan05 ONLINE  

pryan05

    LGT

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 84973
  • 439 Thanks
  • 240 posts
  • Location: Sudbury, Ontario

Posted January 22, 2017 - 06:14 PM

If you laid it on its side maybe air got in the lines , Try cracking the lines loose and start it up to bleed them out.

My thoughts too. 


  • TomLGT195 said thank you

#9 TomLGT195 OFFLINE  

TomLGT195
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 29432
  • 3,274 Thanks
  • 2,531 posts
  • Location: Southern New Hampshire

Posted January 22, 2017 - 07:29 PM

That switch looks to be pressure operated. Is this true? Some sense the level. I wouldn't be operating it until you know for sure that you have oil pressure.


That's one of my thoughts.

#10 TomLGT195 OFFLINE  

TomLGT195
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 29432
  • 3,274 Thanks
  • 2,531 posts
  • Location: Southern New Hampshire

Posted January 22, 2017 - 07:31 PM

If you laid it on its side maybe air got in the lines , Try cracking the lines loose and start it up to bleed them out.


Another option I've thought about.

#11 Alc OFFLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 6,318 Thanks
  • 7,157 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted January 23, 2017 - 06:27 AM

I didn't know compressors had low oil switches or pressure switches .   Mine must be too small and old .



#12 Cvans ONLINE  

Cvans

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5412
  • 5,793 Thanks
  • 5,745 posts
  • Location: Eastern SD.

Posted January 23, 2017 - 11:23 AM

I didn't know compressors had low oil switches or pressure switches .

 

 Some do but unfortunately not all catch the low oil soon enough. One of our maintenance men found that out the hard way.  :mad2: 


  • Alc said thank you

#13 sodisr OFFLINE  

sodisr
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 9153
  • 662 Thanks
  • 772 posts
  • Location: kenosha Wi

Posted January 23, 2017 - 11:49 AM

If not looking at the switch or bleeding the lines,,( ALL good tips )  Doe's the oil resevoir have a  float of some kind, that may have been tilted and hung up when  laid on it's side..??? may be a little time to let it settle back down ( Kinda like a frig ) to let the coolant,, oil  what-ever  find home again...    Just a thought...   good luck anyway...


  • TomLGT195 said thank you

#14 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,961 Thanks
  • 4,085 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted January 23, 2017 - 12:00 PM

That is a pressure switch.  The pump may have lost its prime.  Can you take a line off and get some oil into the pump to prime it?


  • KennyP and TomLGT195 have said thanks

#15 TomLGT195 OFFLINE  

TomLGT195
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 29432
  • 3,274 Thanks
  • 2,531 posts
  • Location: Southern New Hampshire

Posted January 23, 2017 - 03:46 PM

I didn't know compressors had low oil switches or pressure switches .   Mine must be too small and old .

This is a commercial model.


  • Alc said thank you




Top