Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Charging system?


  • Please log in to reply
54 replies to this topic

#31 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,929 Thanks
  • 2,078 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted March 07, 2017 - 08:49 PM

This is the Hydro version, I see a couple circuit breakers, and a re-set switch. PS I missed the model post.

Similar but different tractor, mine is a S14H

#32 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,929 Thanks
  • 2,078 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted March 07, 2017 - 08:51 PM

Isn't there a ground running from dash to engine?


Could double check that, could that cause a no crank?

#33 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 6,524 Thanks
  • 4,177 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted March 07, 2017 - 08:57 PM

Sorry, there are several to choose from on this site. https://www.jackssma...sierra-tractors



#34 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 6,524 Thanks
  • 4,177 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted March 07, 2017 - 09:01 PM

Found the issue, it was the regulator not being grounded, but now I have a new problem, the tractor shut off suddenly and wouldn't even crank, nothing when I turn the key, found a ground wire that bolts to the bottom dash mount stills bolted in place but not connected to anything, I would guess that this is the culprit but where does it go?

I was going by the tractor shut off suddenly, That indicates a tripped breaker or blown fuse. I think you still have a couple electrical gremlins.


  • adamjd200 said thank you

#35 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6172
  • 4,779 Thanks
  • 4,882 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted March 07, 2017 - 09:16 PM

So many possibilities. What is the safety circuit like? Hacked or modded anywhere? Ignition switch ok?
  • adamjd200 said thank you

#36 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,929 Thanks
  • 2,078 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted March 07, 2017 - 09:27 PM

Safety circuit is OK, switch is ok, does the circuit board under the dash ground through the mounting screw?

#37 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,929 Thanks
  • 2,078 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted March 07, 2017 - 09:30 PM

I was going by the tractor shut off suddenly, That indicates a tripped breaker or blown fuse. I think you still have a couple electrical gremlins.


Tried reset switch, no go, how would you test a circuit breaker, all of the stuff I have worked on has always been fuses but this tractor has all breakers.
  • larrybl said thank you

#38 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 6,524 Thanks
  • 4,177 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted March 07, 2017 - 09:35 PM

Use a multi-meter. They should check the same way as fuses. Open or Short. CB's may have a reset button. All mine use fuses also.


Edited by larrybl, March 07, 2017 - 09:36 PM.

  • adamjd200 said thank you

#39 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,929 Thanks
  • 2,078 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted March 07, 2017 - 09:42 PM

After looking at the diagram I don't think this tractor has fuses, I'll have to check continuity on the CBs tomorrow.
  • larrybl said thank you

#40 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 6,524 Thanks
  • 4,177 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted March 07, 2017 - 09:53 PM

Yes, then the next step will be to find what is tripping the CB if that is the case. Good luck, and keep us posted.


  • adamjd200 said thank you

#41 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,929 Thanks
  • 2,078 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted March 08, 2017 - 10:47 AM

Reset button does nothing, no continuity in the CB at all, NAPA has them, and I have to pick up something there later anyway, swap old for new? Could the reset button be bad?

#42 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 6,524 Thanks
  • 4,177 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted March 08, 2017 - 11:38 AM

Reset button does nothing, no continuity in the CB at all, NAPA has them, and I have to pick up something there later anyway, swap old for new? Could the reset button be bad?

no continuity in the CB at all, I would start with this.



#43 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,929 Thanks
  • 2,078 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted March 10, 2017 - 07:25 AM

no continuity in the CB at all, I would start with this.


Just a thought, if I made a jumper wire with a fuse holder and used a fuse equivalent to the CB, couldn't I bypass the CB to see if that's the issue?

#44 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6172
  • 4,779 Thanks
  • 4,882 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted March 10, 2017 - 10:00 AM

That is what I have done. I kind of remember that those breakers are NLA in that size.
  • adamjd200 said thank you

#45 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,929 Thanks
  • 2,078 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted March 19, 2017 - 04:12 PM

So many possibilities. What is the safety circuit like? Hacked or modded anywhere? Ignition switch ok?


I'm starting to think your second guess may be correct, after checking the ignition switch in the tractor, there's power to the switch but no power to the coil or solenoid no matter what position the switch is in.




Top