Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Charging system?


  • Please log in to reply
54 replies to this topic

#16 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,987 Thanks
  • 2,124 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted January 24, 2017 - 02:32 PM

Weather is not helping things,
IMG_20170124_143110.jpg

#17 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,987 Thanks
  • 2,124 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted March 02, 2017 - 08:02 PM

Update, after fixing the connectors on the regulator, I'm seeing 12.5 at the battery, how do you check a regulator?

#18 larrybl OFFLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 6,762 Thanks
  • 4,304 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted March 02, 2017 - 08:33 PM

Is the 12.5 with the engine running at about 1/2 throttle?

Did we ever locate a wire diagram? That would be the next step.


Edited by larrybl, March 02, 2017 - 08:35 PM.


#19 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,987 Thanks
  • 2,124 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted March 02, 2017 - 10:25 PM

Don't have a diagram, 12.5 is with the engine at around 3/4 throttle, the engine is a Kohler k321, not a starter generator engine.

#20 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,987 Thanks
  • 2,124 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted March 02, 2017 - 10:29 PM

This is what my regulator looks like, it ha 3 prongs, two connect to wires coming from the engine, and one wire goes to the ignition switch, can the regulator be tested with a multimeter?
download.jpg

Edited by adamjd200, March 02, 2017 - 10:32 PM.


#21 larrybl OFFLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 6,762 Thanks
  • 4,304 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted March 02, 2017 - 10:31 PM

Only thing I can think to test to check the regulator is to measure the output right at the regulator. (red wire?)

If it is 13V or higher, figure out why it isn't getting  to the battery.

If it is the same as the battery voltage, then the regulator or stator is suspect.

 

With the engine running, report the voltage measured from the wire that goes to the ignition switch and ground, at the regulator connector.


Edited by larrybl, March 02, 2017 - 10:34 PM.


#22 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,987 Thanks
  • 2,124 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted March 02, 2017 - 10:35 PM

Only thing I can think to test to check the regulator is to measure the output right at the regulator. (red wire?)
If it is 13V or higher, figure out why it isn't getting  to the battery.
If it is the same as the battery voltage, then the regulator or stator is suspect.

Done that already, nothing at output, other two read 1volt, makes no sense.

#23 larrybl OFFLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 6,762 Thanks
  • 4,304 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted March 02, 2017 - 10:36 PM

Make sure the regulator is grounded! I had to add a separate ground wire on my Roper. The engine tins don't provide a good ground. 



#24 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,987 Thanks
  • 2,124 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted March 02, 2017 - 10:44 PM

Mine is on the frame, but that is something I'll have to check out.

#25 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,987 Thanks
  • 2,124 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted March 07, 2017 - 07:58 PM

Found the issue, it was the regulator not being grounded, but now I have a new problem, the tractor shut off suddenly and wouldn't even crank, nothing when I turn the key, found a ground wire that bolts to the bottom dash mount stills bolted in place but not connected to anything, I would guess that this is the culprit but where does it go?

#26 larrybl OFFLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 6,762 Thanks
  • 4,304 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted March 07, 2017 - 08:07 PM

Long shot again, but I am batting a 1000 so far. I would guess that now that the regulator is working, it may have blown a fuse shutting the machine down, and a no crank condition now.


Edited by larrybl, March 07, 2017 - 08:08 PM.


#27 larrybl OFFLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 6,762 Thanks
  • 4,304 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted March 07, 2017 - 08:10 PM

A Model number, or at least what type of machine would help locating a manual or diagram. I feel like I am trying to find my way around in a strange dark room.



#28 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,987 Thanks
  • 2,124 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted March 07, 2017 - 08:16 PM

I thought I posted that in the OP, machine in question is an Aries S14h, Kohler k321.
  • larrybl said thank you

#29 larrybl OFFLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 6,762 Thanks
  • 4,304 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted March 07, 2017 - 08:29 PM

This is the Hydro version, I see a couple circuit breakers, and a re-set switch. PS I missed the model post.

Attached Files



#30 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6172
  • 4,987 Thanks
  • 5,036 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted March 07, 2017 - 08:38 PM

Isn't there a ground running from dash to engine?




Top