Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Charging system?


  • Please log in to reply
54 replies to this topic

#1 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,982 Thanks
  • 2,121 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted January 20, 2017 - 09:36 PM

What is the best way to check if the charging system is working on an S14? I suspect mine isn't, and judging by the wiring on the voltage regulator, that would be where I would suspect the issue would be. Any thoughts?

#2 Tecumseh power OFFLINE  

Tecumseh power

    Jack of all trades, master of none.

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 77571
  • 1,454 Thanks
  • 1,104 posts
  • Location: Vintondale pa

Posted January 20, 2017 - 09:41 PM

Start it put a volt meter on the battery while it is running. Should read over 13.2 volts. Turn headlights on it still should stay above 13
  • boyscout862 said thank you

#3 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,982 Thanks
  • 2,121 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted January 20, 2017 - 09:50 PM

Start it put a volt meter on the battery while it is running. Should read over 13.2 volts. Turn headlights on it still should stay above 13


Headlights don't work, I'll figure them out later, I have to charge the battery and then check it, don't want to put a new battery in it and have issues.

#4 Tecumseh power OFFLINE  

Tecumseh power

    Jack of all trades, master of none.

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 77571
  • 1,454 Thanks
  • 1,104 posts
  • Location: Vintondale pa

Posted January 20, 2017 - 09:51 PM

You can still do the test without the lights . You don't have to have them it just don't hurt to turn them on and check it if they are working
  • adamjd200 said thank you

#5 Tecumseh power OFFLINE  

Tecumseh power

    Jack of all trades, master of none.

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 77571
  • 1,454 Thanks
  • 1,104 posts
  • Location: Vintondale pa

Posted January 20, 2017 - 09:53 PM

Don't check it as soon as your done charging the battery wait, because it will be higher from the charger. Meter the battery note the voltage. Start it and then check it again.
  • adamjd200 said thank you

#6 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,982 Thanks
  • 2,121 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted January 20, 2017 - 10:12 PM

You can still do the test without the lights . You don't have to have them it just don't hurt to turn them on and check it if they are working


I know, I already figured out that they don't work.
  • Tecumseh power said thank you

#7 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 6,753 Thanks
  • 4,300 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted January 20, 2017 - 10:43 PM

This is how I figured out I wasn't at the 3600 rpm needed to charge the battery and run the electric PTO. https://www.youtube....h?v=MjZnbFkTUgY

 

It would charge fine when just riding, but after 2 hours mowing it wouldn't start.


  • Alc and adamjd200 have said thanks

#8 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,982 Thanks
  • 2,121 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted January 20, 2017 - 11:32 PM

This is how I figured out I wasn't at the 3600 rpm needed to charge the battery and run the electric PTO. https://www.youtube....h?v=MjZnbFkTUgY
 
It would charge fine when just riding, but after 2 hours mowing it wouldn't start.

Thanks, this tractor does have electric PTO.

#9 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 6,753 Thanks
  • 4,300 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted January 21, 2017 - 05:25 PM

I adjusted the RPM to 3550 while the deck was on using this. 

Attached Thumbnails

  • P1180628.JPG


#10 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,982 Thanks
  • 2,121 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted January 21, 2017 - 07:27 PM

Tractor is not charging, only reading 12.40v at full throttle, wiring at regulator is rough at best, gonna start there.

#11 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 6,753 Thanks
  • 4,300 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted January 21, 2017 - 08:29 PM

This should be a close video. Not sure what the S14 has for a regulator. https://www.youtube....h?v=PRqo4kiuqlA



#12 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,982 Thanks
  • 2,121 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted January 21, 2017 - 09:59 PM

This is what my regulator looks like, the wires have old repairs and one is holding on by a few strands, that is what I'm thinking a large part of the issue is.
download.jpg

#13 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 6,753 Thanks
  • 4,300 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted January 21, 2017 - 10:15 PM

I use new wires and get my connectors from here https://www.delcity....erminals/p_9291

I crimp, solder, and heat shrink them.



#14 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,982 Thanks
  • 2,121 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted January 21, 2017 - 11:35 PM

I use new wires and get my connectors from here https://www.delcity....erminals/p_9291
I crimp, solder, and heat shrink them.

I have connectors and wire, just need to fix the hack Job that's there now, it's a 20 min job.

#15 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6172
  • 4,977 Thanks
  • 5,034 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted January 24, 2017 - 01:08 PM

Good to hear you are getting it figured out. I have been fortunate to not have to dig into that yet on mine.




Top